Mon 3 May 2021 | 09:08

VIDEO: Why was this not a yellow card?

VIDEO: Why was this not a yellow card?
Mon 3 May 2021 | 09:08
VIDEO: Why was this not a yellow card?
SHARE

WATCH as another refereeing decision confuses spectators and pundits alike – when Stormers No.8 Willie Engelbrecht is hit by a sickening blow to the head from Sharks counterpart Sikhumbuzo Notshe.

ADVERTISEMENT

Referee Jaco Peyper is clearly heard saying he [Engelbrecht] slipped into the tackle.

However, Engelbrecht (was twice yellow carded (in the 15th and 47th minutes) for similar high tackles.

The second yellow card became and red card and he will appear before a disciplinary hearing this week – facing a ban that could rule him out for several matches.

In both cases, Engelbrecht’s initial contact was on the body of the ball carrier and then slipped up to the head – as discussed between the referee, Peyper, and his TMO, Stuart Berry.

There is confusion over why in one instance slipping (and dipping) is taken into account and in another, it is not?

The Sharks came from behind to win the Rainbow Cup SA opener 33-30 in Cape Town at the weekend.

  • Below, watch the Notshe hit on Engelbrecht and then the second yellow card (which resulted in the red) against Engelbrecht.

@rugby365com

ADVERTISEMENT
Video Spacer

 

PV: 15
ADVERTISEMENT
VIDEO: Why was this not a yellow card? | Rugby365