Thu 12 Nov 2015 | 08:40

Oceania 7s Qualifiers

Oceania 7s Qualifiers
Thu 12 Nov 2015 | 08:40
Oceania 7s Qualifiers

The men's winner and the women's winner have a direct ticket to Rio. The teams that finish second and third will have a second chance by gaining entry to the World Rugby final Olympic qualifying tournament, expected to be played in June 2016.

The qualifying tournament for men and for women takes place at the Trusts Arena in Auckland on 14 and 15 November 2015.

Amongst the men's teams taking part are two great Sevens countries – Australia and Samoa.

Nauru, an island in the Pacific, is taking part for the first time. It is the third smallest country in the world after Vatican City and Monaco. It formed its rugby union in 2012.

The teams

Men: Australia, Samoa, Tonga, Papua New Guinea, Cook Islands, America Samoa, Nauru, Solomon Islands

Women: Fiji, Samoa, Papua New Guinea, Cook Islands, Tonga

Men's Pools

Pool A: Australia, Cook Islands, Nauru, Tonga
Pool B: Samoa, Papua New Guinea, American Samoa, Solomon Islands

Men's Fixtures, Day 1

Tonga vs Cook Islands
Australia vs Nauru
Tonga vs Nauru
Australia vs Cook Islands
Cook Islands vs Nauru
Australia vs Tonga
Papua New Guinea vs American Samoa
Samoa vs Solomon Islands
Papua New Guinea vs Solomon Islands
Samoa vs American Samoa
American Samoa vs Solomon Islands
Samoa vs Papua New Guinea

The referees

Jessica Beard (New Zealand), James Bolabiu (Fiji), Nick Briant (New Zealand), Richard Kelly (New Zealand), Tevita Rokovereni (Fiji), Kaveni Talemaivalagi (Fiji), Jordan Way (Australia), Paul Williams (New Zealand).

PV: 2

Oceania 7s Qualifiers | Rugby365