Thu 17 May 2018 | 01:13

Chiefs change seven for Sharks clash

Chiefs change seven for Sharks clash
Thu 17 May 2018 | 01:13
Chiefs change seven for Sharks clash

The Chiefs are without Nathan Harris, Brodie Retallick, Damian McKenzie and Anton Lienert-Brown for the match as they returned home to join up with the All Blacks. 

In the forwards, Liam Polwart starts at hooker for Harris, Tyler Ardron moves to lock in place of Retallick and the impressive Pita Gus Sowakula gets a start in the No.8 jersey.

In the backs, Charlie Ngatai moves into centre for Lienert-Brown and Shaun Stevenson starts at fullback after a bright cameo off the bench last weekend.

Replacement player Matt Matich is named in the reserves and could make his debut for the Chiefs and Luteru Laulala will take the No.22 jersey after linking up with the team this week.

It's also an exciting game for powerful prop Sosefo Kautai who is named on the bench for the first time this season after making four appearances in his debut campaign last year.

An outstanding milestone awaits ço-captain Charlie Ngatai who will take the field for the 50th time in Chiefs colours. 

Chiefs: 15 Shaun Stevenson, 14 Sean Wainui, 13 Charlie Ngatai (captain), 12 Johnny Faauli, 11 Solomon Alaimalo, 10 Marty McKenzie, 9 Brad Weber, 8 Pita Gus Sowakula, 7 Liam Messam, 6 Luke Jacobson, 5 Michael Allardice, 4 Tyler Ardron, 3 Angus Ta’avao, 2 Liam Polwart, 1 Karl Tu’inukuafe'.
Replacements: 16 Samisoni Taukei’aho, 17 Sam Prattley, 18 Sosefo Kautai, 19 Jesse Parete, 20 Matt Matich, 21 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 22 Luteru Laulala, 23 Toni Pulu.

Date: Saturday, May 19
Venue: Kings Park, Durban
Kick-off: 15.05 (01.05 NZ time Sunday, May 20; 13.05 GMT)
Referee: Mike Fraser (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Marius van der Westhuizen (South Africa), Archie Sehlako (South Africa)
TMO: Willie Vos (South Africa)

PV: 2

Chiefs Change Seven For Sharks Clash | Rugby365