Mon 23 Apr 2018 | 05:24

Did Bulls prop bite a Rebel?

Bulls post match press conference after win over Rebels
Mon 23 Apr 2018 | 05:24
Did Bulls prop bite a Rebel?

In a somewhat vague statement from SANZAAR, Schoeman is alleged to have contravened "Law 9.12: A Player must not physically or verbally abuse anyone. Physical abuse includes, but is not limited to Biting, during the match between the Bulls and Rebels at Loftus Versfeld in Pretoria on 21 April 2018".

According to reports, Schoeman bit Rebels loose forward Richard Hardwick on the stomach.

Rebels captain Tom English alerted New Zealand referee Ben O'Keeffe to "evidence on Hardwick’s stomach", but it was ignored.

Upon further investigation of the incident, the citing commissioner deemed in his opinion the incident had met the red card threshold for foul play.

The case is to be considered in the first instance by the SANZAAR Foul Play Review Committee which will take place on Monday, April 23 via video-conference.

All SANZAAR disciplinary matters are in the first instance referred to the Foul Play Review Committee to provide the option of expediting the judicial process.

For a matter to be dispensed with at this hearing, the person appearing must plead guilty and accept the penalty offered by the Foul Play Review Committee.

PV: 4

Did Bulls Prop Bite A Rebel? | Rugby365