Wed 19 Apr 2017 | 08:20

Kriel cleared by SANZAAR hearing

2017 Super Rugby Round 8: Stormers v Lions
Wed 19 Apr 2017 | 08:20
Kriel cleared by SANZAAR hearing
SHARE

Kriel was cited for a late tackle on Stormers flyhalf Robert du Preez, in the 26th minute of his team's historic win. 

Kriel is alleged to have contravened Law 10.4(o): Late-charging the Kicker.

The SANZAAR hearing held via video conference on Wednesday was heard by Andre Oosthuizen (Chairman), David Croft and Eroni Clarke.

In his finding, Oosthuizen ruled the following: "Having conducted a detailed review of all the available evidence, including all camera angles and additional evidence, including from the player and submissions from his legal representative, Frikkie Erasmus, the judicial committee concluded that the red card threshold had not been met to satisfy the citing and that the on-field yellow card was sufficient. 
 
"The judicial committee found that the player came into contact with the opposing flyhalf in the course of the player attempting to charge down, that his action did not amount to an intentional late charge or obstruction and accordingly had not committed a transgression of Law 10.4(o).

"The player is therefore free to resume playing."

Kriel said he was "very thankful" for the way in which Sanzaar and the panel handled his case.

"I am just focusing on the game at hand against the Jaguares at home at Ellis Park this weekend."

PV: 2
Kriel Cleared By Sanzaar Hearing | Rugby365