Get Newsletter

Sunwolves lose three key players as Lions loom

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: The Sunwolves have lost three key players ahead of their Round Six Super Rugby encounter with the Lions in Singapore on Saturday.


Inspiration centre Michael Little is one of three players ruled out with concussion.

He is joined on the sidelines by props Pauliasi Manu and Sam Prattley.

The result is a complete reshuffle of the team – including some tactical changes.

Ryohei Yamanaka starts at fullback, with Jason Emery shifting from No.15 to outside centre in place of Sione Teaupa.

Harumichi Tatekawa replaces the injured Little at inside centre.

Semisi Masirewa starts on the left wing in place of Hosea Saumaki, who drops down to the replacement bench.


Former Lions (nine caps) and Bulls (46 games) player Grant Hattingh starts at lock in place of Uwe Helu – who also drops down to the replacement bench.

Jiwon Koo comes in at tighthead prop for Hiroshi Yamashita and Masataka Mikami starts in place of Pauliasi Manu.

Sunwolves: 15 Ryohei Yamanaka, 14 Gerhard Van Den Heever, 13 Jason Emery, 12 Harumichi Tatekawa, 11 Semisi Masirewa, 10 Hayden Parker, 9 Jamie Booth, 8 Rahboni Warren Vosayaco, 7 Dan Pryor, 6 Ben Gunter, 5 Tom Rowe, 4 Grant Hattingh, 3 Jiwon Koo, 2 Atsushi Sakate, 1 Masataka Mikami.
Replacements: 16 Nathan Vella, 17 Alex Woonton, 18 Hiroshi Yamashita, 19 Uwe Helu, 20 Amanaki Lelei Mafi, 21 Fumiaki Tanaka, 22 Takuya Yamasawa, 23 Hosea Saumaki.

Date: Saturday, March 23
Venue: International Stadium, Singapore
Kick-off: 19.55 (12.55 SA time; 10.55 GMT)
Referee: Damon Murphy (Australia)
Assistant referees: Shuhei Kubo (Japan), Tasuku Kawahara
TMO: Minoru Fuji


Sunwolves team to play Lions 23-3-2019

Write A Comment