Sun 18 Mar 2018 | 03:05

Reds triumph over Jaguares

Reds triumph over Jaguares
Sun 18 Mar 2018 | 03:05
Reds triumph over Jaguares

Brad Thorn’s side picked up a brutal 18-7 win over the Jaguares at Estadio Amalfitani on Sunday.

Young flyhalf James Tuttle opened the scoring with a penalty in the third minute, but the home side replied with a Bautista Delguy try just four minutes later to take a 7-3 lead.

Reds hooker Brandon Paenga-Amosa picked up his first try of the season off the back of a rolling maul from a lineout. Another Tuttle penalty pushed the lead out to four points.

Jaguares midfielder Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias was denied a try two minutes after the half time hooter after the TMO ruled he knocked on over the try line.

Shortly after the break, diminutive Reds wing Filipo Daugunu scored his maiden Super Rugby try to put his side ahead by two scores 18-7, a lead that proved insurmountable as the Jaguares suffered through a scoreless second half.

The home side proved to be their own worst enemy, coming painstakingly close to the try line on multiple occasions only to concede a turnover or succumb to a handling error. The Jaguares conceded 26 turnovers in total.

The Jaguares will host the Lions next week, while the Reds travel to South Africa to take on the Stormers at Newlands.

The scorers:

For Jaguares:
: Delguy
Con: Sanchez

For Reds:
: Paenga-Amosa, Daugunu
Con: Tuttle
Pens: Tuttle


Jaguares: 15 Joaquin Tuculet, 14 Bautista Delguy, 13 Matias Orlando, 12 Santiago Iglesias, 11 Emiliano Boffelli, 10 Nicolas Sanchez, 9 Gonzalo Bertranou, 8 Javier Ortega Desio, 7 Marcos Kremer, 6 Pablo Matera (captain), 5 Tomas Lavanini, 4 Matias Alemanno, 3 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 2 Agustin Creevy, 1 Felipe Arregui.
Replacements: 16 Julian Montoya, 17 Santiago Botta, 18 Juan Pablo Zeiss, 19 Guido Petti, 20 Juan Manuel Leguizamon, 21 Martin Landajo, 22 Juan Martin Hernandez, 23 Sebastian Cancelliere.

Reds: 15 Aidan Toua, 14 Filipo Daugunu, 13 Chris Feauai-Sautia, 12 Samu Kerevi, 11 Eto Nabuli, 10 Jono Lance, 9 James Tuttle, 8 Caleb Timu, 7 Adam Korczyk, 6 Angus Scott-Young, 5 Kane Douglas, 4 Izack Rodda, 3 Taniela Tupou, 2 Brandon Paenga-Amosa, 1 James Slipper (captain).
Replacements: 16 Andrew Ready, 17 JP Smith, 18 Ruan Smith, 19 Harry Hockings, 20 Liam Wright, 21 Ben Lucas, 22 Hamish Stewart, 23 Duncan Paia’aua.

Referee: Paul Williams (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Jamie Nutbrown (New Zealand), Pablo Deluca (Argentina)
TMO: Santiago Borsani (Argentina)


PV: 2
Reds Triumph Over Jaguares | Rugby365