Fri 2 Mar 2018 | 05:46

Reds win Aussie snorefest

Reds win Aussie snorefest
Fri 2 Mar 2018 | 05:46
Reds win Aussie snorefest

It required six penalties to overcome a misfiring Brumbies team 18-10 in a dour Round Three match in Brisbane on Friday.

The Reds, challenging the Jaguares as the competition's most ill-disciplined team, lost a player for foul play (dangerous shoulder charge) in the 35th minute.

Caleb Timu's yellow card follows the red (captain Scott Higginbotham) and yellow ( Lukhan Tui) from last week.

Some teams just never learn!

However, their superior scrum earned them a string of second-half penalties, with Jono Lance and James Tuttle kicking three each for the win.

More to follow…

Man of the match: In a game this boring and of such poor quality, not many players put their hands up. Our award goes to the referee Angus Gardner, who deserves plaudits for staying awake and remain focussed in the face of what was the worst Super Rugby games in many years.

The scorers:

For the Reds:
 Tuttle 3, Lance 3

For the Brumbies:
 Powell, Naisarani

Yellow card: Caleb Timu (Reds, 35 – foul play, shoulder charge)


Reds: 15 Aidan Toua, 14 Chris Feauai-Sautia, 13 Samu Kerevi, 12 Duncan Paia'aua, 11 Eto Nabuli, 10 Jono Lance, 9 James Tuttle, 8 Caleb Timu, 7 Liam Wright, 6 Adam Korczyk, 5 Kane Douglas, 4 Izack Rodda, 3 Taniela Tupou, 2 Brandon Paenga-Amosa, 1 James Slipper (captain).
Replacements: 16 Alex Mafi, 17 JP Smith, 18 Sef Fa'agase, 19 Harry Hockings, 20 Angus Scott-Young, 21 Tate McDermott, 22 Hamish Stewart, 23 Filipo Daugunu.

Brumbies: 15 Tom Banks, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Kyle Godwin, 11 Chance Peni, 10 Christian Lealiifano, 9 Joe Powell, 8 Isi Naisarani, 7 Tom Cusack, 6 Lachlan McCaffrey, 5 Sam Carter, 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Josh Mann-Rea, 1 Ben Alexander.
Replacements: 16 Robbie Abel, 17 Nic Mayhem, 18 Leslie Leuluaialii-Makin, 19 Blake Enever, 20 Lolo Fakaosilea, 21 Matt Lucas, 22 Wharenui Hawera, 23 Lausii Taliauli  

Referee: Angus Gardner (Australia)
Assistant referees: William Houston (Australia), James Leckie (Australia)
TMO: George Ayoub (Australia)

PV: 2
Reds Win Aussie Snorefest | Rugby365