Fri 20 Apr 2018 | 05:37

Ton up for Brumbies' Speight

Ton up for Brumbies' Speight
Fri 20 Apr 2018 | 05:37
Ton up for Brumbies' Speight

The flying Fijian will claim a century of appearances for the Brumbies and in so doing will join an exclusive list of only ten players to have achieved the feat for the franchise in the history of Super Rugby.
There's a return in the second row for experienced lock Sam Carter, who will captain the side in the absence of co-skipper Christian Lealiifano, with the centre taking a planned break from Super Rugby to undertake a period of regeneration following a heavy workload in pre-season and taking part in every match thus far.
Scrumhalf Joe Powell returns to the starting XV after an absence of two matches, swapping places with Matt Lucas who reverts to the replacements bench, whilst there is a recall for Kyle Godwin who will slot into the inside centre role vacated by Lealiifano.
There are three changes amongst the finishers with Mees Erasmus and Darcy Swain set to win their first Brumbies caps as replacement prop and lock respectively, both drafted back into the matchday twenty-three.
We may also get a first glimpse this season of utility back Jordan Jackson-Hope with the exciting back selected following an impressive display for the Tuggeranong Viking sin their John I Dent Cup victory over Gungahlin Eagles at Gungahlin Enclosed last weekend.
Elsewhere, the pack has a settled look with the front row of Scott Sio, Folau Fainga'a and Allan Alaalatoa packing down together for a fourth successive match. Rory Arnold continues in the second row, alongside the returning Carter, whilst the backrow will comprise David Pocock, Tom Cusack and Isi Naisarani.
The Brumbies have only ever played the Jaguares once before, and never in Canberra, having tasted a 39-15 success over the Argentineans in Buenos Aires last year, the second leg of their overseas tour.

Brumbies: 15 Tom Banks, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Kyle Godwin, 11 Chance Peni, 10 Wharenui Hawera, 9 Joe Powell, 8 Isi Naisarani, 7 David Pocock, 6 Tom Cusack, 5 Sam Carter, 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Folau Fainga'a, 1 Scott Sio.
Replacements: 16 Robbie Abel, 17 Nick Mayhew, 18 Mees Erasmus, 19 Darcy Swain, 20 Michael Oakman-Hunt, 21 Matt Lucas, 22 Jordan Jackson-Hope, 23 Andrew Smith.

Date: Sunday, April 22
Venue: GIO Stadium, Canberra
Kick-off: 16.10 (06.10 GMT; 03.10 Buenos Aires time)
Referee: Angus Gardner (Australia)
Assistant referees: Nicholas Berry (Australia), William Houston (Australia)
TMO: Ian Smith (Australia)

PV: 2

Ton Up For Brumbies' Speight | Rugby365