Tue 15 May 2018 | 09:05

VIDEO: Beale downplays Moody blow

Beale focused on Highlanders clash
Tue 15 May 2018 | 09:05
VIDEO: Beale downplays Moody blow

The Wallaby centre Beale got struck in the throat by Crusaders prop Joe Moody in the 34th minute of the Waratahs' 29-31 loss.

Moody escaped any on-field punishments but was later suspended for two weeks by the SANZAAR foul play review committee.

The Waratahs were leading 29-0 before Moody struck Beale with an elbow – way in front of a teammate carrying the ball – to the throat, just before scoring a try.

Moody's try instigated the Crusaders' comeback.

When asked about the incident, Beale revealed that he didn't think to tell the referee about the hit and was just trying to move on from the incident with no ill-effects lingering.

"He's just gone and got me on the jaw a bit," Beale told reporters in Sydney.

"But obviously, in the heat of battle, I just had to continue on the next job and that's what I did,"

The incident did spark discussion around the SANZAAR’s refereeing selection given that it was an all Kiwi-referee panel for the Christchurch game.

However, the centre was reluctant to be drawn into the conversation.

"As a player, it’s a matter of knowing your job out there and making sure that you’re just focusing on the present and not worrying too much about the decisions or outcomes of a decision and as a squad that’s what we focus on," he said.

"If you get too caught up in that sort of stuff you lose focus and you won’t be able to get the outcome you want in certain things,"

Despite the defeat, the Waratahs are currently first-placed on the Australian Conference. They will host the Highlanders on Saturday at the Allianz Stadium.



PV: 2

Video: Beale Downplays Moody Blow | Rugby365