Tue 6 Feb 2018 | 10:14

Maties fly to the top

Maties fly to the top
Tue 6 Feb 2018 | 10:14
Maties fly to the top

Maties were in ruthless form as they disposed of Shimlas 56-21 in Stellenbosch while their Cape Town counterparts UCT-Ikeys bounced back from an opening round defeat to overcome the Madibaz 27-17 in Port Elizabeth.

UJ were also on the right side of a result this round as they secured a 48-21 victory over the struggling CUT, while Wits were the big winners of the round, edging Tuks 25-19 to climb to second place on the log.

All the scores and scorers!

NMMU-Madibaz 17-27 UCT-Ikeys

Simon Bolze handed the home side an early lead with a seventh-minute penalty before UCT took the lead through a Cuan Hablutzel try and Karl Martin penalty by the 26th minute. 

Bolze then added a converted try of his own but another Martin penalty before the half-time break handed the visitors a slender 11-10 lead. 

The Madibaz came out firing and took the lead through a Siphumelele Msutwana try but that lead and any hope of victory was wiped out when Pieter Schoonraad and Nyasha Tarusenga scored to secure the bonus point win. Martin and Lohan Lubbe were on song with the conversions.


For Madibaz:
Tries: Bolze, Msutwana
Con: Bolze 
Pens: Bolze 2

For UCT-Ikeys:
Tries: Schoonraad, Tarusenga, Hablutzel
Cons: Martin, Lubbe
Pen: Martin


Madibaz: 15 Michael Botha, 14 Lindelwe Zungu, 13 Siphumelele Msutwana, 12 Riaan Esterhuizen (captain), 11 Athi Mayinje, 10 Simon Bolze, 9 Sibusiso Ngcokovane, 8 Justin Hollis, 7 Wynand Grassman, 6 Henry Brown, 5 Gerrit Huisamen, 4 Reyno Du Toit, 3 Dylan Barendse, 2 Jean-Pierre Jamieson, 1 Nicolas Roebeck.
Replacements: 16 Jedwyn Harty, 17 Tembelihle Yase, 18 Luyolo Dapula, 19 Robert Izaks, 20 Lovu Claassen, 21 Henrique Olivier, 22 Jordan Koekemoer, 23 Keegan Branford.

UCT-Ikeys: 15 Karl Martin, 14 Rayno Mapoe, 13 Khanyo Ngcukana, 12 Joel Smith, 11 Sebastian Roodt, 10 Darian Hock, 9 Stefano de Gouveia, 8 Nyasha Tarusenga, 7 Josh Moon (captain), 6 Liam Greenhalgh, 5 Duncan Saffy, 4 David Meihuizen, 3 Simon Raw, 2 Cuan Hablutzel, 1 Wayrin Losper.
Replacements: 16 Josh Van Vuuren, 17 Ashwyn Adams, 18 Ntokozo Khomo, 19 Gary Porter, 20 Kwezi Puza, 21 Pieter Schoonraad, 22 Lohan Lubbe, 23 Suwilanji Chibale.

Referee: Cwengile Jadezweni

Maties 56-21 Shimlas

Maties flank Marno Redelinghuys handed the home side the early lead but Sango Xamlashe levelled matters at 7-7 in the 10th-minute. Edwill van der Merwe extended the home side's lead with a try of his own before Chris Smith added a penalty to hand the home side a 17-7 lead after 22 minutes.

The home side extended their lead when Duncan Saal bagged a brace within minutes of each other. Shimlas hit back on the stroke of half-time through Athi Halom to see the visitors trail 14-33 at the half-time interval.

Xamlashe had his brace in the second half but three tries in the closing 15 minutes by Saal, Chippie Oelofse and Smith secured the comprehensive victory.


For Maties:
Tries: Redelinghuys, van der Merwe, Saal 3, Oelofse, Smith
Cons: Smith 5, Fortuin
Pen: Smith

For Shimlas:
Tries: Xamlashe 2, Halom
Cons: Dobela, Naude 2


Maties: 15 Reinardt Fortuin, 14 Duncan Saal, 13 Cornel Smit, 12 Chris Smith, 11 Edwill van der Merwe, 10 Christopher Smith, 9 Remu Malan, 8 Janco Venter, 7 Marno Redelinghuys, 6 Mitchell Carstens, 5 Johan Momsen, 4 Ernst van Rhyn, 3 Johan Fouche, 2 Arnoldi Wilmar, 1 Chippie Oelofse (captain).
Replacements: 16 Hendrik Luus, 17 Ricky Nwagbara, 18 Piet Strauss, 19 Brandon Valentyn, 20 Stephan Streicher, 21 Logan Boonzaaier, 22 Elden Schoeman, 23 Munier Hartzenberg.

Shimlas: 15 Nicholas Naude, 14 Athi Halom, 13 Carel-Jan Coetzee, 12 Sango Xamlashe, 11 Gideon Agenbag, 10 Lubabalo Dobela, 9 Dian Badenhorst, 8 Albertus de Bod, 7 Menzi Nhlabathi, 6 Jan Cloete, 5 Henk Pretorius, 4 Raymond Woest, 3 Mogau Mabokela, 2 Hanno Snyman, 1 Gert Kotze (captain).
Replacements: 16 JC Jansen van Vuuren, 17 Wentzel Vorster, 18 Janu Botha, 19 Rholane Ncubuka, 20 Christoffel Roelofse, 21 Zinedene Booysen, 22 Francois Pretorius, 23 Sechaba Matsoele.

Referee: Quinton Immelman

UJ 48-21 CUT-Ixias

CUT took the lead through a Heinrich Bitzi penalty but the home side hit back with a Jannes Snyman converted try.

UJ came out firing in the second half and cruised to a further five tries to secure the bonus point victory. CUT managed two tries of their own and a further two Bitzi penalties but the efforts proved futile as they remain winless in the competition.


For UJ: 
Tries: Snyman, Malembe, Brown, Bradley, Fourie, Cohen
Cons: Cilliers 6
Pen: Cilliers

For CUT:
Tries: Kleu, Makakole
Cons: Bitzi
Pen: Bitzi 3


UJ: 15 Ronald Brown, 14 Tyreeq February, 13 Jan-Louis la Grange, 12 Jaco Fourie, 11 Tatendaishe Mujawo, 10 Jeanluc Cilliers, 9 Bradley Thain, 8 Wian Conradie, 7 Adriaan Bester, 6 James Venter, 5 Kevin de Randt, 4 Malembe Mpofu, 3 Nico du Plessis, 2 Jannes Snyman (captain), 1 Sibusiso Lali.
Replacements: 16 Hendrik van Schoor, 17 Dillon Bakos, 18 Darrien-Lane Landsberg, 19 Dian Schoonees, 20 Johan Esterhuizen, 21 Austic-Marc Davids, 22 Louis van der Schyff, 23 Cohen Kiewit.

CUT: 15 Dimitrio Tieties, 14 Masego Toolo, 13 Rasmus Breedt, 12 Heinrich Bitzi, 11 Dean Jacobs, 10 Denver Kleu, 9 Ruben De Haas, 8 Gerhardus Nel, 7 Rayno Nel (captain), 6 Dean Rossouw, 5 Brendon Fortuin, 4 Sylvester Makakole, 3 Stefan van Schalkwyk, 2 Tiaan Erasmus, 1 Quintin Vorster.
Replacements: 16 Johannes Terblanche, 17 Raynard Esterhuizen, 18 LW Viljoen, 19 Isiah Bila, 20 Arne van Rensburg, 21 Tiisetso Madonsela, 22 Mazithulele Nkosi, 23 Ruben Heymans.

Referee: Vusi Msibi

Wits 25-19 UP-Tuks

Tuks drew first blood when Toko Seerane made his way through the Wits defence to take a 7-0 lead but a well-taken Power Play saw the home side take the lead when Sicelo Champion raced through the 13-man Tuks outfit to hand Wits a 9-7 lead in the 20th minute.

Wits extended their lead to 18-7 when Kwanele Ngam crossed the try line but Xolisa Guma hit back with a try of his own for Tuks as they trailed 14-18 at half-time.

Kasande Kapepula grabbed the home side's third try early in the second half to establish a 25-14 lead before Tuks came back once again with a try of their own through Guma to reduce the deficit to  19-25, and the score remained unchanged by the time the final whistle sounded.


For Wits:
Tries: Champion, Ngema, Kapepula, 
Cons: Humphries 3

For UP-Tuks:
Tries: Seerane, Guma 2
Cons: De Beer


Wits: 15 Tyrone Green, 14 Kwanele Ngema, 13 Sicelo Champion, 12 Adriaan van Blerk, 11 Bin Daniel Kapepula, 10 Christian Humphries, 9 Ruan Cloete, 8 Ayabulela Mdudi, 7 Conor-Terrah Brockschmidt, 6 Constant Beckerling (captain), 5 Pascal Snyman, 4 Dawid Bodenstein, 3 CJ Greeff, 2 CJ Conradie, 1 Ameer Williams.
Replacements: 16 Justin Brandon, 17 Craig Hume, 18 Sipho Siboza, 19 Jethro de Lange, 20 Kyle Weseman, 21 Manqoba Mbatha, 22 Lwazi Monakali, 23 Luyolo Qinela.

UP-Tuks: 15 Willem Strydom, 14 Dewald Naude, 13 Adrian Seerane, 12 Christo Hamman, 11 Xolisa Guma, 10 Tinus de Beer, 9 Theo Maree, 8 Eduan Lubbe, 7 Jaco Bezuidenhout, 6 Jacobus Smit, 5 Eli Snyman, 4 Marius Verwey, 3 Andrew Beerwinkel, 2 Jan-Henning Campher, 1 Franco van den Berg.
Replacements: 16 Johan Grobbelaar, 17 Wesley Adonis, 18 Ruan Nortje, 19 Orateng Koikanyang, 20 Carlo Engelbrecht, 21 Tony Botha, 22 Mihle Nelani, 23 Mornay Smith.

Referee: Jaco Pretorius

PV: 2
Maties Fly To The Top | Rugby365