Tue 3 Apr 2018 | 09:15

Maties set to face Pukke in final

Maties set to face Pukke in final
Tue 3 Apr 2018 | 09:15
Maties set to face Pukke in final

UJ opened the scoring with a seven-point try by Ronald Brown. Kobus Engelbrecht managed the conversion, putting UJ 9-0 ahead after just two minutes of play.

Odwa Nkunjana scored UJ's second seven-point try in five minutes, putting his team 18-0 up in what was one of the most sensational Varsity Cup starts this season.

Louis van der Westhuizen kept NWU's hopes alive when he found the try-line after a mind-blowing run by Tapiwa Mafura. Schalk Hugo slotted the conversion, leaving NWU chasing an 11 point deficit after 11 minutes of play.

After some impressive mauling by NWU, Tapiwa Mafura scored right under the poles. Hugo managed the conversion, leaving only four points between them with only fifteen minutes played.

Schalk Hugo scored and converted his own seven-point try, putting NWU ahead 23-21 for the first time in the game after half an hour of play.

NWU continued their domination when Chriswill September dived over the try-line. Schalk Hugo made no mistake with the conversion for the  30-24 advantage at the break.

It was NWU who got the second half underway when AK Nela broke through UJ's defence to score right under the poles. Schalk once again managed the conversion.

Jan-Louis La Grange scored for UJ and Kobus Engelbrecht converted, but UJ were still trailing 37-31.

NWU-Pukke extended the lead when Louis van der Westhuizen scored his second try of the match. Schalk Hugo converted the try, 44-31.

Tapiwa Mafura snatched up a loose ball which set up a sensational seven-point try for Dean Stokes. Hugo had no problem adding the extras.

NWU put the final nail in the coffin when Nkosana Mbatha dotted the ball over the try line for another try. Schalk Hugo stepped up for the two extras for the remarkable victory.

Elsewhere, Maties scored 10 tries in their 65-18 win against Wits at the Danie Craven Stadium.

Maties' Janco Venter and try-scoring machine Duncan Saal both scored a brace of tries, respectively.

All the scores and scorers

NWU-Pukke 60-31 UJ

The Scores

For NWU:

Tries: Louis van der Westhuizen 2, Tapiwa Mafura, Schalk Hugo, Chriswill September, AK Nela, Dean Stokes, Nkosana Mbatha
Cons: Schalk Hugo 8

For UJ:

Tries: Ronald Brown, Odwa Nkunjana, Jan-Louis La Grange
Cons: Kobus Engelbrecht 3
Pens: Kobus Engelbrecht 2


NWU: 15 Tapiwa Mafura, 14 Jimmy Mpailane, 13 Evardi Boshoff, 12 AK Nela, 11 Dean Stokes, 10 Schalk Hugo, 9 Chriswill September, 8 Tiaan Bezuidenhout, 7 Estehan Visagie, 6 Gideon van der Merwe, 5 Walt Steenkamp, 4 Johan Retief, 3 Robert Hunt, 2 Louis van der Westhuizen, 1 Matimu Manganyi
Replacements: 16 Percy Mngadi, 17 Nelius Theron, 18 Theodore Ferreira, 19 Jaco Swanepoel, 20 Wandile Mazibuko, 21 Nkosana Mbatha, 22 Henko Marais, 23 Justin Newman.

UJ: 15 Ronald Brown, 14 Mujawo Tatendaishe, 13 Jan-Louis la Grange, 12 Austin Davids, 11 Odwa Nkunjana, 10 Kobus Engelbrecht, 9 Bradley Thain, 8 Wian Conradie, 7 Adriaan Bester, 6 James Venter, 5 Estian Enslin, 4 Kevin du Randt, 3 Nico du Plessis, 2 Jannes Snyman, 1 Sibusiso Lali.
Replacments:16 Hendrik van Schoor, 17 Dillon Bakos, 18 Luwaca Siyabonga, 19 Malembe Mpofu, 20 Johan Esterhuizen, 21 Jeanluc Cilliers, 22 Cyprian Nkomo 23 Cohen Kiewit

Maties 65-18 Wits

The Scorers

For Maties:
: Neethling Fouche; Johan van Niekerk; Chris Smit; Wilmar Arnoldi; Janco Venter 2; Chris Smith; Duncan Saal 2; Munier Hartzenberg
Cons: Chris Smith 5
Pen: Chris Smith

For Wits:
Bin Kasende Kapepula; David Cray
Cons: Christian Humphries 2


Maties: 15 Reinardt Fortuin, 14 Duncan Saal, 13 Michal Haznar, 12 Chris Smit, 11 Edwill van der Merwe, 10 Christopher Smith, 9 Remu Malan, 8 Marno Redelinghuys, 7 Janco Venter, 6 Johan van Niekerk, 5 Johan Momsen, 4 Ernst van Rhyn, 3 Neethling Fouche, 2 Wilmar Arnoldi, 1 Chippie Oelofse (captain)
Replacements: 16 Craig Corbett, 17 Ricky Nwagbara, 18 Piet-Louw Strauss, 19 Brandon Valentyn, 20 Stefan Streicher, 21 Brandon Nel, 22 Munier Hartzenberg, 23 Carlisle Nel

Wits:  15 Tyrone Green, 14 Kwanele Ngema, 13 Sicelo Champion, 12 Yanga Hlalu, 11 Bin Kasende Kapepula, 10 Christian Humphries, 9 Ruan Cloete, 8 Ayabulela Mdudi, 7 Ruan McDonald, 6 Constant Beckerling (captain), 5 Pascal Snyman, 4 Conor Brockschmidt, 3 Cornelius Greef, 2 Cecil John Conradie, 1 Ameer Williams
Replacements: 16 Justin Brandon, 17 Craig Hume, 18 Sipho Siboza, 19 Dawid Bodenstein, 20 Giovan Snyman, 21 Adriaan van Blerk, 22 David Cray, 23 Luyolo Qinela

PV: 2
Maties Set To Face Pukke In Final | Rugby365