Mon 20 Feb 2017 | 06:29

Pukke hold off Tigers in arm-wrestle

Pukke hold off Tigers in arm-wrestle
Mon 20 Feb 2017 | 06:29
Pukke hold off Tigers in arm-wrestle

Pukke took an early 13-0 lead before UCT managed to reduce the deficit to 10 points at the half-time break. Pukke, however,  took their lead to 20-6 in the second half and maintained it throughout the half until UCT scored a late try to get something out of the game.

It took Pukke just three minutes to get the scoreboard ticking when they crossed for the first try of the match. Flyhalf Schalk Hugo slotted the conversion to hand the home side a 7-0 lead.

Hugo then extended that lead by a further six points when he slammed home two penalties to ensure a 13-0 lead after 16 minutes of play and that is how it remained at the first strategy break.

UCT got themselves on the board in the closing minutes of the first half when fullback Lohan Lubbe slotted his first penalty of the match to see the visitors trail 3-13 after 34 minutes. That is the way it remained at the half-time interval.

NWU-Pukke were reduced to 14 men early in the second half when Justin Newman was sent to the bin and UCT took full advantage as Lubbe slotted his second penalty of the match to reduce the deficit to 6-13 after 51 minutes.

Despite being down to 14 men, Pukke managed to extend their lead to 14 points when replacement Estehan Visagie dotted down for the home side. Hugo added the conversion to stretch their lead to 20-6 after 56 minutes.

There was not much happening to the scoreboard from that point until the final play of the match where UCT managed to grab a seven-point try through Gary Porter. Lubbe added the conversion to secure a losing bonus point.


For NWU-Pukke:
Tries: TBC, Visagie
Cons: Hugo 2
Pens: Hugo 2

For UCT-Ikeys:
Try: Porter
Con: Lubbe
Pens: Lubbe 2

Yellow card: Justin Newman (NWU-Pukke)


NWU-Pukke: 15 Tapiwa Mafura, 14 Jimmy Mpailane, 13 Elden Schoeman, 12 Jacob Pienaar, 11 Justin Newman, 10 Schalk Hugo, 9 Chriswill September, 8 Marno Redelinghuys, 7 Jan Venter, 6 Marcel Henn, 5 Walt Steenkamp, 4 Neil Morrison, 3 Kabelo Motloung, 2 Louis van der Westhuizen, 1 Rudolph van Deventer.
Replacements: 16 Dane van der Westhuyzen, 17 Dewald Dekker, 18 Morné Strydom, 19 Estehan Visagie, 20 Muziwandile Mazibuko, 21 Caleb Louw, 22 Nkululeko Mcuma, 23 Lungelo Gosa.

UCT-Ikeys: 15 Lohan Lubbe, 14 Rayno Mapoe, 13 Tristan Mouton, 12 Rico Lategan, 11 Joel Smith, 10 Robert Anderson, 9 Stefano de Gouveia, 8 Nyasha Tarusenga, 7 Luke Stringer, 6 Jason Klaasen, 5 Gary Porter, 4 Duncan Saffy, 3 Michael Kumbirai, 2 Cuan Hablutzel, 1 Wayrin Losper.
Replacements: 16 Martin Chandler, 17 William Day, 18 Lee-Marvin Mazibuko, 19 Kuyenzeka Xaba, 20 Suwilanji Chibale, 21 Sanele Malwane, 22 Gerard Pieterse, 23 Hilio de Abreu.

Referee: Ricus van der Hoven
Assistant referees: Local

PV: 2
Pukke Hold Off Tigers In Arm-wrestle | Rugby365