Fri 21 Aug 2015 | 07:58

Pool Stages: Ireland Beat The Aussies

Pool Stages: Ireland Beat The Aussies
Fri 21 Aug 2015 | 07:58
Pool Stages: Ireland Beat The Aussies

New Zealand and France edged out Tonga, Canada and Japan, in Pool A.

In Pool B, England and Argentina sent Scotland, Georgia and Romania packing.

Ireland and Australia dominated Pool C, leaving behind Italy, United States and Russia.

In Pool D, South Africa and Wales outclassed Samoa, Fiji and Namibia to progress to the knock-out stage.

The biggest shock came, when Ireland beat Australia 15-6- with Jonathan Sexton boot being the difference.

New Zealand showed their dominance by crushing Japan 83-7- with 11 All Black players scoring tries.

South Africa, New Zealand, Ireland and England dominated the pool stages, by not losing a single game.

Canada and Japan played out to a great 23-all draw. It was the first time in World Cup history that the same two sides played to a draw in consecutive World Cups; this follows their 12-all draw in 2007.

For a third World Cup in a row, Namibia had been the whipping boys in the pool stages, by conceding 266 points.

The highest winning margin in the pool stages was 87 points, when South Africa won Namibia 87-0.

The same point system as the 2007 World Cup was used again (four points for a win, two points for a draw, 0 points for a loss, one bonus point four scoring more than four tries and one bonus point for a loss by seven points or less).

PV: 2

Pool Stages: Ireland Beat The Aussies | Rugby365