Get Newsletter

Rugby Champs team of the tournament

IN THE SPOTLIGHT: World Rugby has selected a very interesting Rugby Championship team of the tournament.


The Rugby Championship ended in a dramatic fashion, so it would be fitting for the team of the tournament to be yet another highly debatable feat.

The Springboks, who concluded the tournament in third, have four players in the starting XV.

Steven Kitshoff, Lood de Jager, Makazole Mapimpi and Lukhanyo Am are the four South Africans who made the cut for the side.

While the winners the All Blacks contributed five players to the selection.

The surprise factor is seeing the Wallabies having six players, giving them the biggest representation.

Given Los Pumas’ winless streak there are no Argentinean players in the team


Team of the Tournament: 15 Jordie Barrett (New Zealand), 14 Andrew Kellaway (Australia), 13 Lukhanyo Am (South Africa), 12 Samu Kerevi (Australia), 11 Makazole Mapimpi (South Africa), 10 Quade Cooper (Australia), 9 Tate McDermont (Australia), 8 Ardie Savea (New Zealand), 7 Michael Hooper (Australia), 6 Akira Ioane (New Zealand), 5 Lood de Jager (South Africa), 4 Brodie Retallick (New Zealand), 3 Taniela Tupou (Australia), 2 Codie Taylor (New Zealand), 1 Steven Kitshoff (South Africa)


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by World Rugby (@worldrugby)



Join free

Boks Office | Jesse Kriel reveals the hardest team he had to play at the Rugby World Cup

Big Jim Walks and Talks with Handré Pollard

My Best Half | Episode Two | Katelyn Vahaakolo & Patricia Maliepo

Bernard Jackman & Stuart Hogg | The Big Jim Show | Full Episode

Wildknights v Sungoliath

Beyond 80 | Episode 2

Rugby Europe Men's Championship | Georgia v Spain | Full Match Replay


Write A Comment