Get Newsletter
The European Rugby Champions Cup is an annual competition under the auspices of European Professional Club Rugby.

It is the top tier competition for clubs whose national teams take part in the Six Nations Championship and qualify on the basis of their results in their respective leagues, i.e. the Premiership, the PRO14 and the French Top 14, or through winning the second tier European Challenge Cup for those the teams that don’t qualify for, as it is often called, the European Cup or European Champions Cup.

Leinster and Toulouse have both won the European Champions Cup four times, with Saracens and Toulon next best with three titles each. Leicester Tigers have played in five finals but were runner-up on three occasions.

England’s teams (Premiership) have been crowned champions on ten occasions through Saracens (3), Leicester Tigers (2), Wasps (2) and Northampton Saints. French teams (Toulouse 4, Toulon 3, and Brive) have won eight titles and Leinster (4) and Ulster have secured five titles for Irish sides.