Get Newsletter
The Six Nations Championship is an annual competition by the four Home Unions, France and Italy.

Ireland and Northern Ireland compete as a single team and were one of the four teams in the inaugural Home Nations Championship (1883–1909 and 1932–39), with England, Wales and Scotland the other teams.

This was the first international rugby tournament. It became the Five Nations (1910-31 and 1947-99) when France was allowed into the competition but was expelled in 1932 due to allegations of professionalism. when the tournament reverted to the Nations Tournament until it was interrupted by the second World War.

France was allowed back after the War in 1947 and it became the Six Nations with the addition of Italy in 1999.

England have won the competition outright 29 times (including 2020). Wales have won the title 27 time, France have 17 title wins, Ireland (14) and Wales. Since the Six Nations era started in 2000, only Italy and Scotland have failed to win the Six Nations title.