Tue 21 Sep 2021 | 12:18

Wiese in hot water

Wiese in hot water
Tue 21 Sep 2021 | 12:18
Wiese in hot water
SHARE

NEWS: Springbok No.8 Jasper Wiese will face a SANZAAR Judicial Committee Hearing on Tuesday.

ADVERTISEMENT

Wiese has been cited for foul play during his team’s 17-30 loss to the Wallabies in Round Four of the Rugby Championship.

The 25-year-old received a yellow card for an illegal clean-out on Samu Kerevi in the closing stages of Saturday’s game. However, the citing commissioner believed it was a red-card incident.

“Wiese is alleged to have contravened Law 9.12: a player must not physically abuse anyone, during the match between Australia and South Africa at Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane on 18 September 2021,” said a SANZAAR statement.

“The referee for the match, Matthew Carley, issued a yellow card for the incident which occurred in the 78th minute.

“Upon further review of the match footage, the Citing Commissioner deemed in his opinion the incident had met the Red Card threshold for foul play.

“Following initial consideration by the SANZAAR Foul Play Review Committee, Wiese will appear at a SANZAAR Judicial Committee Hearing.

ADVERTISEMENT

“The Judicial Committee for the Hearing will be Michael Heron QC (Chair), Helen Morgan and Chris Smith which will be held by video conference on Tuesday 21 September 2021, 20.00 (NZST), 18.00 AEST), 10. 00 (SAST), 05.00(ART).”

PV: 6
ADVERTISEMENT