Get Newsletter

World Rugby Awards: Bok stars snubbed

NEWS: The nominees for World Rugby’s 2021 Player of the Year award has been revealed.


Wallabies captain Michael Hooper and powerhouse teammate Samu Kerevi are among four players shortlisted for the award.

They are up against French scrumhalf Antoine Dupont and English lock Maro Itoje, who also played for the British and Irish Lions against South Africa.

The winner will be decided by a fan vote.

The World Rugby Awards Panel selected the candidates, overlooking a few standout players from the Springboks and All Blacks.

The Springboks enjoyed a series victory over the British and Irish Lions this year while the All Blacks dominated the Rugby Championship.

CLICK HERE to view the full World Rugby Awards panel

See all nominees below…


The only representation from South Africa is in the Try of the Year category. It is Lukhanyo Am’s score for South Africa in the second Test against the British and Irish Lions.

Wallabies head coach Dave Rennie has been nominated for the Coach of the Year after steering the Wallabies to a series win against France and back-to-back wins against the world champion Springboks, although his team is in danger of returning winless from Europe.

He has been shortlisted with Allan Bunting/Cory Sweeney (New Zealand Women’s Sevens), All Blacks coach Ian Foster, and Simon Middleton (England Women).

Meanwhile, the nominees for the Breakthrough Player of the Year category have also been revealed. They are Will Jordan (New Zealand), Louis Rees-Zammit (Wales), Marcus Smith (England) and Andrew Kellaway (Australia).

CLICK HERE to cast your votes



World Rugby Men’s XVs Player of the Year (fan vote)
Antoine Dupont (France)
Michael Hooper (Australia)
Maro Itoje (England/British and Irish Lions)
Samu Kerevi (Australia)

World Rugby Women’s XVs Player of the Year (fan vote)
Zoe Aldcroft (England)
Caroline Boujard (France)
Laure Sansus (France)
Poppy Cleall (England)

World Rugby Breakthrough Player of the Year (panel vote)
Will Jordan (New Zealand)
Andrew Kellaway (Australia)
Louis Rees-Zammit (Wales)
Marcus Smith (England)

World Rugby Coach of the Year (panel vote)
Allan Bunting/Cory Sweeney (New Zealand Women’s Sevens)
Ian Foster (New Zealand Men)
Simon Middleton (England Women)
Dave Rennie (Australia Men)

World Rugby Men’s Sevens Player of the Year (fan vote)
Napolioni Bolaca (Fiji)
Scott Curry (New Zealand)
Marcos Moneta (Argentina)
Jiuta Wainiqolo (Fiji)

World Rugby Women’s Sevens Player of the Year (fan vote)
Anne-Cécile Ciofani (France)
Sarah Hirini (New Zealand)
Alowesi Nakoci (Fiji)
Reapi Ulunisau (Fiji)

International Rugby Players Men’s Try of the Year (fan vote)
Lukhanyo Am (South Africa, v British and Irish Lions on 31 July)
Pierre-Louis Barassi (France, v Australia on 17 July)
Luke Jacobson (New Zealand, v Argentina on 12 September)
Damian Penaud (France, v Scotland on 26 March)

International Rugby Players Women’s Try of the Year (fan vote)
Sara Barattin (Italy, v Scotland on 13 September)
Emilie Boulard (France, v Wales on 3 April)
Abby Dow (England, v France on 24 April)
Romane Ménager (France, v Ireland on 17 April)

Additional source: AAP

Join free

Fresh Starts | Episode 1 | Will Skelton


Aotearoa Rugby Podcast | Episode 8

James Cook | The Big Jim Show | Full Episode

New Zealand victorious in TENSE final | Cathay/HSBC Sevens Day Three Men's Highlights

New Zealand crowned BACK-TO-BACK champions | Cathay/HSBC Sevens Day Three Women's Highlights

Japan Rugby League One | Steelers v Sungoliath | Full Match Replay

Rugby Europe Women's Championship | Netherlands v Spain

Write A Comment