Do Not Sell My Personal Information
Fri 1 Nov 2019 | 07:31

Boks dominate World Rugby nominations

Boks dominate World Rugby nominations
Fri 1 Nov 2019 | 07:31
Boks dominate World Rugby nominations

NEWS: World Rugby has announced the shortlist for the prestigious Player of the Year awards for 2019.

It will be presented at The Prince Park Tower in Tokyo, Japan, on Sunday – November 3.

Following a stellar year for international rugby culminating in a very special Rugby World Cup 2019, the shortlist for the ultimate accolade feature players who have excited and inspired fans around the world with their feats during the year.

The nominees for Player of the Year are: Pieter-Steph du Toit (South Africa), Tom Curry (England), Alun Wyn Jones (Wales), Cheslin Kolbe (South Africa), Ardie Savea (New Zealand) and Joe Taufete’e (United States).

The shortlist was selected by the star-studded World Rugby Awards panels.

The men’s panel comprises Rugby World Cup winners Richie McCaw, John Smit, George Gregan, Brian O’Driscoll, Fabien Galthié, Agustín Pichot and Seilala Mapusua.

International players have also had the opportunity to vote to determine the nominees of the prestigious awards.



A linchpin in the South African pack, Du Toit has started eight of the Springboks’ 10 tests in 2019 and been an unused replacement in the World Cup 2019 win over Canada. The towering 27-year-old may have flitted between second row and flank in the early days of his international career, but he has made the No.7 jersey his own over the last two years and his work-rate and versatility mean he is one of the first names down on Rassie Erasmus’ team sheet.


The youngest of the nominees at only 21, Curry has been at his destructive best during World Cup 2019, tormenting teams at the breakdown and winning turnover ball with regularity as one half of England’s dynamic flank pairing with Sam Underhill. A strong ball carrier who was named Player of the Match in the quarter-final against Australia, he has started 13 of England’s 14 tests in 2019, beginning the year at openside before switching to blindside in an inspired move by Eddie Jones.


He may easily be the oldest of the nominees at 34, but Jones is playing some of the best rugby of his career in 2019 – a year in which he has become his country’s most-capped player and moved to joint second in the history of the game. The towering second-row is a master in the line-out and carries the ball endlessly during a game, his energy levels seeming to have no limit as he pushes Wales forward. Captaincy clearly agrees with Jones, who has already led Wales to the Six Nations Grand Slam this year.


The dancing feet of Kolbe have lit up Rugby World Cup 2019 with the diminutive winger showing that size isn’t everything, his footwork and pace allowing him to turn a defence inside out and leave players clutching at thin air in his wake. The Springbok, who turned 26 earlier this week, has started six tests in 2019 and scored five tries, including two in the pool stage against Italy when he was named Player of the Match. An ankle injury ruled him out of the semi-final with Wales but the Springboks will be delighted he is back for the final.


With the ability to play anywhere across the back-row, Savea has been at his rampaging best in 2019, starting eight of the 10 tests played by New Zealand and coming off the bench against Canada in the World Cup 2019 pool stage. His work-rate is such that you would be forgiven for thinking there was more than one Savea on the pitch at times, turning over ball at the breakdown, charging at the defence or popping up in a flowing attack.

JOE TAUFETE’E (United States)

The Eagles hooker has enjoyed a record-breaking year in international rugby, his hat-trick against Uruguay in March making him the most prolific try-scorer in front-row history – 18 tries in just 21 tests smashing Keith Wood’s record that had stood for nearly 14 years in a third of the caps. Taufete’e ended the Americas Rugby Championship as the top try scorer with six and was a key member of the Eagles’ squad for World Cup 2019, starting all four matches in Japan.

Previous winners

2018 – Johnny Sexton (Ireland)
2017 – Beauden Barrett (New Zealand)
2016 – Beauden Barrett (New Zealand)
2015 – Dan Carter (New Zealand)
2014 – Brodie Retallick (New Zealand)
2013 – Kieran Read (New Zealand)
2012 – Dan Carter (New Zealand)
2011 – Thierry Dusautoir (France)
2010 – Richie McCaw (New Zealand)
2009 – Richie McCaw (New Zealand)
2008 – Shane Williams (Wales)
2007 – Bryan Habana (South Africa)
2006 – Richie McCaw (New Zealand)
2005 – Dan Carter (New Zealand)
2004 – Schalk Burger (South Africa)
2003 – Jonny Wilkinson (England)
2002 – Fabien Galthié (France)
2001 – Keith Wood (Ireland)

  • This week’s podcast …

PV: 14467

Boks dominate World Rugby nominations - england | Rugby365