Thu 4 Feb 2021 | 01:26

Eddie Jones shakes up England

Eddie Jones shakes up England
Thu 4 Feb 2021 | 01:26
Eddie Jones shakes up England

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Eddie Jones has named his England side for their opening 2021 Six Nations match this weekend.


England will take on Scotland at Twickenham Stadium, in the Calcutta Cup, on Saturday, February 6.

The game marks the 150-year anniversary of the fixture, after the first-ever international Test was played between the two nations at Raeburn Place, Edinburgh in 1871.

Jones has made four changes to the side.

Owen Farrell, who will captain England throughout the championship, is at flyhalf and the team’s most experienced player Ben Youngs is set to make his 105th cap, at scrumhalf.

Elliot Daly is at fullback, Anthony Watson is at right wing and Jonny May on the left wing.

Ollie Lawrence (inside) and Henry Slade (outside) will start as centres.


In the forward pack, Ellis Genge will play loosehead prop and Will Stuart at tighthead prop, with hooker Jamie George in the front row.

Locks Maro Itoje and Jonny Hill make up the tight five.

Mark Wilson returns at blindside flank, Tom Curry is positioned as openside flank with Billy Vunipola at No.8.

Beno Obano could make his England debut after being named as a finisher and there is a return from injury for Courtney Lawes. Luke Cowan-Dickie, Ben Earl, George Ford, Max Malins, Dan Robson and Harry Williams are also named on the replacement bench.

(Continue below video …)

Video Spacer

“We’re really looking forward to this game and getting the Six Nations back underway,” Jones said.

“It’s even more special to be taking part in a 150th-anniversary game, it will be a good occasion.

“It was difficult to pick the 23 players. We’ve had a really good week of training, it’s been very competitive but I’ve gone with what I feel is the strongest 23 for this week.

“The Six Nations is a short tournament, it’s a real sprint so we’ll need to be on the front foot straight away. We know Scotland will be raring to go – but so will we.”

England: 15 Elliot Daly, 14 Anthony Watson, 13 Henry Slade, 12 Ollie Lawrence, 11 Jonny May, 10 Owen Farrell (captain), 9 Ben Youngs, 8 Billy Vunipola, 7 Tom Curry, 6 Mark Wilson, 5 Jonny Hill, 4 Maro Itoje, 3 Will Stuart, 2 Jamie George, 1 Ellis Genge.
Replacements: 16 Luke Cowan-Dickie, 17 Beno Obano, 18 Harry Williams, 19 Courtney Lawes, 20 Ben Earl, 21 Dan Robson, 22 George Ford, 23 Max Malins.

Date: Saturday, February 6
Venue: Twickenham Stadium, London
Kick-off: 16.45 (16.45 GMT)
Referee: Andrew Brace (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Pascal Gauzere (France), Mathieu Raynal (France)
TMO: Joy Neville (Ireland)

Video Spacer
PV: 12
Eddie Jones shakes up England - england | Rugby365