Thu 24 Nov 2022 | 01:22

Eddie Jones shows his hand for Bok clash

Eddie Jones shows his hand for Bok clash
Thu 24 Nov 2022 | 01:22
Eddie Jones shows his hand for Bok clash

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Eddie Jones has named the 23-player England team that will take on South Africa this weekend.


England will host the Springboks at Twickenham Stadium in their final year-end Test on Saturday, November 26.

Manu Tuilagi makes his 50th appearance for England at outside centre.

Tuilagi made his debut for England against Wales in August 2011.

Owen Farrell will again captain the side at inside centre.

Marcus Smith is at flyhalf and Jack van Poortvliet is at scrumhalf.

Tommy Freeman comes in at right wing, Jonny May is at left wing and Freddie Steward is fullback.


Jamie George (hooker) and Mako Vunipola join fellow prop Kyle Sinckler in two changes to the starting front row.

Maro Itoje and Jonny Hill stay at lock.

Alex Coles comes in at flank with Tom Curry, while Billy Vunipola is No.8.

Last weekend’s double-try scorer Will Stuart is named as a replacement, along with Luke Cowan-Dickie, David Ribbans, Sam Simmonds, Ben Youngs, Henry Slade, Ellis Genge and Jack Nowell.


The two sides last faced each other in November 2021, where England won a close match 27-26.

“This is our last game of the year-end campaign and our chance to continue building on the improvements we have made throughout the matches,” Jones said.

“We have made steady progress from game-to-game, culminating in a pulsating draw against New Zealand.

“Now we have the chance to test ourselves against the might of the world champions.

“We’re going out there to light the crowd up.

“The support at Twickenham was outstanding last week and we want to work hard on the pitch to make sure we have another atmosphere like that again on Saturday.”

England: 15 Freddie Steward, 14 Tommy Freeman, 13 Manu Tuilagi, 12 Owen Farrell (captain), 11 Jonny May, 10 Marcus Smith, 9 Jack van Poortvliet, 8 Billy Vunipola, 7 Tom Curry, 6 Alex Coles, 5 Jonny Hill, 4 Maro Itoje, 3 Kyle Sinckler, 2 Jamie George, 1 Mako Vunipola.
Replacements: 16 Luke Cowan-Dickie, 17 Ellis Genge, 18 Will Stuart, 19 David Ribbans, 20 Sam Simmonds, 21 Ben Youngs, 22 Henry Slade, 23 Jack Nowell.

Date: Saturday, November 26
Venue: Twickenham, London
Kick-off: 17.30 (17.30 GMT; 19.30 SA Time)
Referee: Angus Gardner (Australia)
Assistant referees: Andrew Brace (Ireland) & Pierre Brousset (France)
TMO: Ben Whitehouse (Wales)

England team to face South Africa

PV: 29