Get Newsletter

England trim squad ahead of Boks Test

SQUAD ANNOUNCEMENT: England have retained a 26-player squad for their final year-end Test against South Africa this weekend.


Jack Willis has been omitted from the squad ahead of the final November Test against Springboks at Twickenham on Saturday.

The back row came off the bench last weekend during the fightback that eventually clinched a 25-all draw with the All Blacks.

Nineteen forwards were called into England camp at the start of this week and 15 have been retained, Willis, Joe Heyes, Sean Robinson and Jack Singleton the four to lose out.

In the backs, the same six players who were excluded this time last week after two days of training at Pennyhill have again been excluded – Joe Cokansiga, George Furbank, Will Joseph, Alex Mitchell, Cadan Murley and Adam Radwan.

Manu Tuilagi could make his 50th cap for England at the weekend.

Those unavailable for selection due to injury include Henry Arundell, Alfie Barbeary, Ollie Chessum, Trevor Davison, Nic Dolly, Charlie Ewels, George Ford, Sam Jeffries, Nick Isiekwe, Courtney Lawes, Lewis Ludlam, Louis Lynagh, Max Malins, Ratu Naulago, Harry Randall, Raffi Quirke, Sam Underhill.


England last faced South Africa in a closely contested 27-26 win in November 2021.

England squad

FORWARDS: Alex Coles (Northampton Saints), Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs), Tom Curry (Sale Sharks), Ellis Genge (Bristol Bears), Jamie George (Saracens), Jonny Hill (Sale Sharks), Maro Itoje (Saracens), David Ribbans (Northampton Saints), Bevan Rodd (Sale Sharks), Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs), Kyle Sinckler (Bristol Bears), Will Stuart (Bath), Hugh Tizard (Saracens), Billy Vunipola (Saracens), Mako Vunipola (Saracens).

BACKS: Owen Farrell (Saracens), Tommy Freeman (Northampton Saints), Jonny May (Gloucester), Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs), Guy Porter (Leicester Tigers), Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs), Marcus Smith (Harlequins), Freddie Steward (Leicester Tigers), Manu Tuilagi (Sale Sharks), Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers), Jack van Poortvliet (Leicester Tigers), Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers).

Write A Comment