Wed 1 Jan 2020 | 10:48

Referees to 5 January 2020

Referees to 5 January 2020
Wed 1 Jan 2020 | 10:48
Referees to 5 January 2020

And in this week we hit 2020, often such a desirable number. May all referees have 20/20 vision in this new year.


The matches again this week, for many a time of hangover, are again club matches. After spending Christmas at home, the PRO14 referees again go abroad.

For Andrew Brace, an international man who grew up in Wales, went to university in England, played for Belgium and works in Ireland, there will be a special occasion – his 50th PRO14 match as the referee.

In Treviso, Nigel Owens will be refereeing his 182nd PRO14 match. What a great career!


PRO14, Round 10

Cardiff Blues vs Scarlets at Cardiff Arms Park
Referee: Frank Murphy (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Adam Jones (Wales), Eddie Hogan-O’Connell (Ireland)
Television match official: Simon McDowell (Ireland)
Timekeeper: will Evans (Wales)
Assessor: Gareth Simmonds (Wales)


Ulster vs Munster at Kingspan Stadium, Belfast
Referee: Dan Jones (Wales)
Assistant referees: Sean Gallagher (Ireland), Mike English (Wales)
Television match official: Sean Brickell (Wales)
Timekeeper: John Coyle (Ireland)
Assessor: Michael Carroll (Ireland)

Benetton Treviso vs Glasgow Warriors at Stadio Monigo, Treviso
Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)
Assistant referees: Andrea Piardi (Italy), Wayne Davies (Wales)
Television match official: Jon Mason (Wales)
Assessor: Andy McPherson (Scotland)

Dragons vs Ospreys at Rodney Parade, Newport
Referee: Andrew Brace (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Ben Whitehouse (Wales), Paul Haycock (Ireland)
Television match official: Brian MacNeice (Ireland)
Timekeeper: David Bowen (Wales)
Assessor: Dennis Immelman (South Africa)

Zebre vs Cheetahs at Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi, Parma
Referee: Sam Grove-White (Scotland)
Assistant referees: Gianluca Gnecchi (Wales), Hollie Davidson (Scotland)
Television match official: Paul Larter (Scotland)
Assessor: Tim O’Brien (Ireland)


Leinster vs Connacht at RDS Arena, Dublin
Referee: Mike Adamson (Scotland)
Assistant referees: George Clancy (Ireland), Keith Allen (Scotland)
Television match official: Neil Paterson (Scotland)
Assessor: Bertie Smith (Ireland)

Edinburgh vs Kings at Murrayfield, Edinburgh
Referee: Joy Neville (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Ben Blain (Scotland), Jonny Erskine (Ireland)
Television match official: Leo Colgan (Ireland)




Sale Sharks vs Harlequins
Referee: Ian Tempest
Assistant referees: Andrew Jackson, Steve Lee
Television match official: Trevor Fisher
Timekeeper: Mike Hamlin
Assessor: Christopher White & Robin Goodliffe

Leicester Tigers vs Bristol Bears
Referee: JP Doyle
Assistant referees: Michael Hudson, Jonathan Healy
Television match official: Nigel Carrick
Timekeeper: Eric Bullion
Assessor: Andrew Vertigan

Saracens vs Worcester Warriors
Referee: Craig Maxwell-Keys
Assistant referees: Adam Leal, Philip Watters
Television match official: Claire Hodnett
Timekeeper: Roy Marfleet
Assessor: Gary Welsh

Gloucester vs Bath
Referee: Tom Foley
Assistant referees: Anthony Woodthorpe, Paul Dix
Television match official: David Rose
Timekeeper: Laurie Bryant
Assessor: Nigel Yates

London Irish vs Exeter Chiefs
Referee: Christophe Ridley
Assistant referees: Greg Macdonald, Tim Wigglesworth
Television match official: Geoffrey Warren
Timekeeper: Malcolm Sinclair
Assessor: Jerry Wallis & Peter Huckle

Wasps vs Northampton Saints
Referee: Matthew Carley
Assistant referees: Jack Makepeace, Hamish Smales
Television match official: Graham Hughes
Timekeeper: Paul Stanley
Assessor: Martin Fox


Top 14, Pound 13

Agen vs Lyon at Stade Armandie
Referee: Alexandre Ruiz
Assistant referees: Maxime Chalon, Frédéric Chazal
Television match official: Mourad Zitouni

Racing 92 vs Clermont at Paris La Défense Arena
Referee: Laurent Cardona
Assistant referees: Cédric Marchat, Jean-Claude Labarbe
Television match official: Cyril Lafon

Bordeaux-Bègles vs Bayonne at Jacques Chaban-Delmas
Referee: Luc Ramos
Assistant referees: Mathieu Raynal, Bruno Gabaldon
Television match official: Éric Briquet-Campin

Pau vs La Rochelle at Stade du Hameau
Referee: Romain Poite
Assistant referees: Sébastien Minery, Laurent Breil
Television match official: Philippe Bonhoure

Montpellier vs Brive at GGL Stadium
Referee: Vincent Blasco Baqué
Assistant referees: Pascal Gaüzère, Arnaud Blondel
Television match official: Jean-Luc Rebollal

Toulon vs Castres Olympique at Stade Mayol
Referee: Adrien Descottes
Assistant referees: Jonathan Dufort, Christophe Gaillardon
Television match official: Laurent Sclafer

Stade Français Paris vs Toulouse at Stade Jean Bouin
Referee: Tual Trainini
Assistant referees: Thomas Charabas, Mourad Gharbi Tarchouna


All Ireland Bateman Cup

Sligo vs Cork Constitution at Hamilton Park
Referee: Chris Busby
Assistant referees: Jason Cairns, Henry Richmond

Lansdowwne vs Armagh at Lansdowne Road
Referee: Robert O’Sullivan
Assistant referees: Andrew Cole, Paul O’Connor


Top 12, Round 8

Lazio vs Rovigo
Referee: Riccardo Angelucci (Livorno)
Assistant referees: Vicenzo Schipani (Benevento), Edoardo Meo (Roma)

Viadana vs Calvisano
Referee: Matteo Liperini (Livorno)
Assistant referees: Manuel Bottino (Roma), Lorenzo Imbriaco (Bologna)

Valorugby Emilia vs Colorno
Referee: Emanuele Tomò (Roma)
Assistant referees: Gabriel Chirnoaga (Roma), Clara Munarini (Parma)

Mogliano vs Fiamme Oro Rugby
Referee: Andrea Piardi (Brescia)
Assistant referees: Andrea Spadoni (Padova), Francesco Russo (Milano)

Petrarca vs San Donà
Referee: Gianluca Gnecchi (Brescia)
Assistant referees: Matteo Franco (Pordenone), Filippo Bertelli (Brescia)

Sitav Rugby Lyons vs Toscana Aeroporti I Medicei
Referee: Marius Mitrea (Udine)
Assistant referees: Federico Vedovelli (Sondrio), Francesco Meschini (L’Aquila)



Ebbw Vale vs Merthyr
Referee: Ben Whitehouse
Assistant referees: Tom Spurrier, Kelvin Shorte
Television match official: Tim Hayes

Cardiff vs Llanelli
Referee: Adam Jones
Assistant referees: John Darcy, Simon Harris
Television match official: Rhys Thomas

Swansea vs Aberavon
Referee: Craig Evans
Assistant referees: Jason Morris, Colin Kirkhouse

Bridgend vs Newport
Referee: Rhys Jones
Assistant referees: Aled Liddington, Jon Hardy

Carmarthen vs Pontypridd
Referee: Ian Davies
Assistant referees: Elfyn Morris Roberts, Richard Hughes

RGC 1404 vs Llandovery
Referee: Ben Breakspear
Assistant referees: Dai Cambourne, Rob Jones


PV: 704