Get Newsletter

Retired Welsh legend to lead BaaBaas against World XV

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENTS: The Barbariansn and the World XV, coacherd by Eddie Jones and Steve Hansen respectively, have named their matchday line-ups for this weekend’s clash at Twickenham Stadium.


Both squads jam-packed with world-class talent and internationals from 11 nations are represented.

Wales and British & Irish Lions legend Alun Wyn Jones has been named as Barbarians captain, while Italy’s Michele Lamaro will lead out the World XV in London.

Wyn Jones recently announced his retirement from the international game and this is likely to be his last outing.

“It’s an incredible honour to be asked to coach the Barbarians for a second time,” said Jones. “I am very much looking forward to returning to Twickenham Stadium – a venue I have so many fond memories of – as head coach of the Barbarians, and I’m more motivated than ever to put on a show.

“Going up against Steve rekindles a great rivalry which first started in our days competing in Super Rugby and progressed into the international arena. It’ll be a great challenge and one we’re both relishing.”

The fixture against the World XV marks the first return to Twickenham for the Barbarians since a stunning 52-21 victory over England in June 2022.


They then retained the Killik Cup in November, courtesy of a 35-31 win over an All Blacks XV in front of 35,000 people at Tottenham Hotspur Stadium.

Hansen added: “I’m really excited to be returning to Twickenham. I’ve coached both for and against the Barbarians during my career, and while you always have to expect the unexpected where they are concerned.

“You can be certain we’ll have a hugely entertaining match played in a festival atmosphere.”



BARBARIANS: 15 Gareth Anscombe, 14 Adam Radwan, 13 Seta Tamanivalu, 12 Samu Kerevi, 11 Tevita Li, 10 Quade Cooper (vice-capt) 9 Jack Maunder, 8 Steven Luatua, 7 Kai Yamamoto, 6 Aaron Wainwright, 5 Stephan Lewies, 4 Alun Wyn Jones (captain), 3 Enrique Pieretto, 2 Nic Dolly, 1 Alex Waller.
Replacements: 16 Harry Thacker, 17 Tom West, 18 Carlu Sadie, 19 Rob Simmons, 20, Sione Vailanu, 21 Francois Hougaard, 22 Aaron Cruden, 23 Sam Johnson.

WORLD XV: 15 Charles Piutau, 14 Israel Folau, 13, Semi Radradra, 12, Ngani Laumape, 11 Sibusiso Nkosi, 10 Adam Hastings, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Vilame Mata, 7 Michele Lamaro (captain), 6 Sebastian Negri, 5 Harry Hockings, 4 Api Ratuniyarawa, 3 Oliver Keeble, 2 Fraser Brown, 1 Wyn Jones.
Replacements: 16 Elliot Dee, 17 Allan Dell, 18 Marcus Street, 19 Niccolo Cannone, 20 Jordi Murphy, 21 Bryn Hall, 22 Rhys Patchell, 23 Kaminieli Rasaku.

Date: Sunday, May 28
Venue: Twickenham, London
Kick-off: 14.00 (13.00 GMT)
Referee: TBC

Write A Comment