Get Newsletter

Nominees for Six Nations Player of the Championship revealed

NEWS: The shortlist for the 2023 Six Nations Player of The Championship has been revealed, with the top two teams in world rugby dominating the list of contenders for the coveted award.


Ireland claimed their Grand Slam on home soil in Round Five of the Six Nations and retain their place as the No.1 ranked team in world rugby. Three of the players who have been deemed instrumental in this achievement have earned a place on of this years Six Nations Player of The Championship shortlist.

Ireland loose forward, Caelan Doris, fullback Hugo Keenan and wing Mack Hansen have all been named as nominees for the award, thanks to their standout performances throughout the Championship.

Last year’s Grand Slam winners took this year’s Championship title to the wire and remain second in the world rankings, and a trio of French players have also been named on the shortlist for the Player of The Championship award. The French nominees include last year’s winner, scrumhalf Antoine Dupont, who is in contention for his third Player of The Championship accolade.

Thomas Ramos, the France fullback, and wing Damian Penaud, complete the list of six names that will be put to a fan vote across Six Nations Rugby channels this week, to determine the winner of the award.

Six Nations Player of the Championship nominees 2023

The 2023 Six Nations Player of The Championship shortlist is based on nominations from international media, spanning each of the six nations competing in the Championship, as well as factoring in votes from fans for the players they want to see in the Team of The Championship, which closed voting on the Sunday following Round Five concluding.


Fans are now asked to vote for their Six Nations Player of The Championship, with voting open across Six Nations Rugby social and digital channels.

Voting will be open from Monday, March 20, until 18.00 (GMT) on Wednesday, March 22.

The winner of the Six Nations Player of The Championship will be announced on Friday, March 24 alongside the Team of The Championship.

Write A Comment