Tue 27 Oct 2020 | 09:52

UPDATE: France's Le Roux cleared of striking charge

UPDATE: France's Le Roux cleared of striking charge
Tue 27 Oct 2020 | 09:52
UPDATE: France's Le Roux cleared of striking charge
SHARE

DISCIPLINARY UPDATE: South African-born lock Bernard le Roux will be available for France’s final Six Nations clash against Ireland on Saturday.

ADVERTISEMENT

The Racing 92 second row had been cited for allegedly striking Wales’ Alun Wyn Jones with his elbow during France’s 38-21 win over Wales last weekend.

Footage revealed that the  Racing 92 forward cleared out the Welsh legend at a breakdown in the first half but appeared to have his arm around his neck as he drove through the ruck.

The 31-year-old then pushed Jones to the ground and followed through with his right forearm and elbow to the face of the Welshman.

Le Roux who was not penalised during the game as referee Karl Dickson and television match official missed the incident.

The 31-year-old appeared in front of a World Rugby appointed three-man independent panel on Tuesday

The disciplinary panel found that Le Roux had committed foul play but did not deem his actions worthy of a red card, therefore no ban was handed to the Les Bleus lock.

ADVERTISEMENT

Meanwhile, Le Roux acknowledged that he had made contact with Jones but denied committing an act of foul play.

READ: Full statement below…

UPDATE: France's Le Roux cleared of striking charge

UPDATE: France's Le Roux cleared of striking charge

PV: 13
ADVERTISEMENT
UPDATE: France's Le Roux cleared of striking charge - france | Rugby365