Do Not Sell My Personal Information
Mon 18 Mar 2019 | 03:35

Rugby Europe: Georgia Champions Again

Rugby Europe: Georgia Champions Again
Mon 18 Mar 2019 | 03:35
Rugby Europe: Georgia Champions Again

For the 10th time in the last 12 years, Georgia have won Rugby Europe’s Championship. This is their third successive win after Romania won it in 2017.

Results, Round 5

Spain vs Germany, 33-10
Romania vs Belgium, 43-17
Georgia vs Russia, 22-6

The closest result for the Lelos, was a 14-point victory over Spain in Madrid. The Lions of Spain are the runners up this year.

Final Results

Again Georgia have done it with a Grand Slam.

Results, Rounds 1-4

Round 1

Georgia vs Romania, 18-9
Belgium vs Germany, 29-22
Spain vs Russia, 16-14

Round 2

Romania vs Germany, 38-10
Russia vs Belgium, 64-7
Georgia vs Spain, 24-10

Round 3

Georgia vs Belgium, 46-6
Russia vs Germany, 26-18
Spain vs Romania, 21-18

Round 4

Romania vs Russia, 22-20
Spain vs Belgium, 47-9
Georgia vs Germany, 52-3

The Final Log

1. Georgia with 24 points
2. Spain with 18 points
3. Romania with 15 points
4. Russia with 11 points
5. Belgium with 4 points
6. Germany with 1 point

Round 5 Details

Russia vs Georgia in Krasnodar

It’s warmer in Krasnodar than in part of Russia to the north, but the temperature still did not reach 10°C, and it rained.

Georgia,  unusually wearing grey, scored three tries, Russia in red none.

The score at half time was 10-3. Fullback Ioseb Matiashvili kicked a penalty at a tackle early in the half but the scores ere levelled by flyhalf Ianiushkin Sergei, also from a tackle.

The Georgian forwards were far too strong for the Russians and after a series of penalties and five-metre scrums, the referee awarded a penalty try to Georgia on the stroke of half-time.

In the second half bald but bearded hooker, Shalva Mamukashvili, charged down a clearing kick which lock Nodar Cheishvili picked up and scored. 15-3.

Russia goaled a second penalty but when they were again penalised five metres from their line tall wing Mirian Modebadze tapped, looked bewildered and then scored. Matiashvili converted.

There was a great deal of childish squabbling in the match with a tiny peppering of spectators whose noise far exceeded their numbers, especially when Georgia were kicking at goal.

After the match, Georgia were presented with the Rugby Europe Championship cup and the players received their medals.


Russia: 14 Sozonov Vladislav, 13 Galinovskiy Igor, 12 Golosnitskii Kirill, 11 Potikhanov Daniil, 10 Ianiushkin Sergei, 9 Ismailov Timur, 8 Gresev Viktor(C), 7 Peki Eme, 6 Sidorov Mikhail, 5 Elgin Evgeny, 4 Ilin Alexander, 3 Gotovtsev Kirill, 2 Chernyshev Sergey, 15 Churashov Nikita, 1 Alexey Skobiola
Replacements: 16 Kalinin Leonid, 17 Mishechkin Evgeny, 18 Igretsov Andrei, 19 Panasenko Alexey, 20 Bekov Mykyta, 21 Trishin Sergey, 22 Uzunov Konstantin, 23 tba

Georgia: 15 Ioseb Matiashvili, 14 Mirian Modebadze, 13 Merab Sharikadze (captain), 12 Lasha Malaguradze, 11 Giorgi Kveseladze, 10 Tedo Abzhandadze, 9 Vasil Lobzhanidze, 8 Beka Gorgadze, 7 Giorgi Tsutskiridze, 6 Otari Giorgadze, 5 Giorgi Nemsadze, 4 Nodar Cheishvili, 3Levan Chilachava , 2 Shalva Mamukashvili, 1 Beka Gigashvili
Replacements: 16 Zurabi Zhvania, 17 Guram Gogichashvili, 18 Giorgi Melikidze, 19 Shalva Sutiashvili, 20 Giorgi Tkhilaishvili, 21 Gela Aprasidze, 22 Lasha Khmaladze, 23 David Kacharava

Referee: Thomas Foley (England)
Assistant referees: Anthony Woodthorpe (England), Philip Watters (England)
Citing commissioner: Rossano Faccioli (Italy)

Germany vs Spain in Cologne

A penalty produced an attacking lineout and that produced a try for prop Xerom Civil, which Andrea Rábago converted.

Flyhalf Nikolai Klewinghaus kicked a penalty for Germany and then the Spanish forwards did some pick-‘n-go for a try by Andrew Norton.

That made the half-time score 12-3 in the visitors’ favour.

The second half was like unto the first, with the Germans trying phases and the Spanish scoring points – three converted tries, one each by Manu Mora, Michael Walker-Fitton and Lucas Guillaume, all converted by Rábago.

When Germany were penalised five metres from their line, Spain opted for a scrum, shoved the Germans back quickly and enabled Mora to pick up and score near to the posts.

Lock Michael Walker-Fitton’s try followed the well-trodden path of penalty, lineout, maul, try.

The last try came from a scrum. Inside centre Álvar Gimeno broke and when tackled, popped a pass to supporting flank Guillaume, who fell over for the try.


Germany: 15 Marcel Coetzee, 14 Carlos Soteras-Merz, 13 Vito Lammers, 12 Wynston Cameron-Dow, 11 Felix Lammers, 10 Nikolai Klewinghaus , 9 Tim Menzel, 8 Sebastian Ferreira (captain), 7 Jacobus Otto, 6 Emil Rupf, 5 Eric Marks, 4 Jorn Schroder, 3 Sammy Fuchsel, 2 Dasch Barber, 1 Tobias Williams
Replacements: 16 Marcel Henn, 17 Julias Nostadt, 18 Matthias Schosser, 19 Antony Dickinsone, 20 Michail Tyumenev, 21 Morné Laubscher, 22 Samuel Harris, 23 Rafael Pyrasch

Spain: 15 Richard Stewart, 14 Julen Goia, 13 Andrea Rábago, 12 Álvar Gimeno, 11 Jordi Jorba, 10 Andrew Norton, 9 Lucas Rubio, 8 Manu Mora , 7 Lucas Guillame, 6 Víctor Sánchez, 5 Joshua Peters, 4 Michael Walker-Fitton, 3 Xerom Civil, 2 Quentin García, 1 Fernando López (captain)
Replacements: 16 Thierry Feuteu, 17 Diego Carvajales, 18 Ian Ascroft-Leigh, 19 Juan Pablo Guido, 20 Facundo Munilla, 21 Federico Casteglioni, 22 Hugo Alonso, 23 Jon Zabala

Referee: Andrea Piardi (Italy)
Assistant referees: Federico Vedovelli (Italy), Matteo Giacomini (Italy)
Citing commissioner: Alberto Recaldini (Italy)

Belgium vs Romania in Brussels

At the Little Keysel Stadium in Brussels, the Oaks were too strong for the Black Ellipse and led 26-10 at the break, a scoreline they enhanced in the second half.

Romania scored a penalty goal in the first minute through Daniel Plai and more followed till they led 9-3 after Alan Williams got one back for the home side. Two quick tries by Vladut Zaharia and Marius Antonescu. On the stroke of half-time Belgium’s hooker and captain, Thomas Dienst, which Williams converted.

In the second half, Romania were awarded a penalty try, Ovidiu Cojocaru round off a team effort to score a try and Plai kicked a penalty goal. Just before the final whistle Jean-Maurice Decubber scored for Belgium and Louis De Moffarts converted.


Belgium: 15 Alan Williams, 14 Thomas Wallraf, 13 Nathan Bontems, 12 Ervin Muric, 11 Craig Dowsett, 10 Vincent Hart, 9 Tom Cocqu, 8 Corentin Lecloux, 7 Jean-Maurice Decubber, 6 Gillian Benoy, 5 Tom Herenger, 4 Bertrand Billi, 3 Maxime Jadot, 2 Thomas Dienst (captain), 1 Jean-Baptiste de Clercq
Replacements: 16 Alexis Cuffolo, 17 Bastien Gallaire, 18 Lucas Sotteau, 19 Tuur Moelants, 20 Amin Hamzaoui, 21 Louis de Moffarts, 22 Marc Tchangue, 23 Romain Pinte

Romania: 15 Marius Simionescu, 14 Vladu Zaharia, 13 Alexandru Bucur, 12 Vladu Popa, 11 Nicolas Onut, 10 Daniel Plai, 9 Florin Surugiu, 8 Dorin Lazar, 7 Adrian Ion (captain), 6 Vlad Nistor, 5 Marius Antonescu, 4 Johan van Heerden,3 Alexandru Gordat, 2 Eugen Capatîna, 1 Constantin Pristavita
Replacements: 16 Ovidiu Cojocaru, 17 Iulian Hartig, 18 Vasile Balan, 19 Ionut Muresan, 20 Vlad Neculau, 21 Alexandru Tigla, 22 Florin Vlaicu, 23 IonutDumitru

Referee: Craig Evans (Wales)
Assistant referees: Mike English (Wales), Chris Oliver (Wales)
Citing commissioner: Eugene Ryan (Ireland)

PV: 829

Rugby Europe: Georgia Champions Again - georgia | Rugby365