Get Newsletter

Six changes and new skipper for Wales

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Wales head coach Warren Gatland has named his team to play Georgia at Stade de la Beaujoire, Nantes in their final Pool C match of the World Cup on Saturday.


Wales travel to Nantes on Thursday from their team base in Versailles.

Dewi Lake captains the side at hooker and starts his second match of the tournament. Gareth Thomas (loosehead prop) and Tomas Francis (tighthead prop) join Lake in the front row.

Taulupe Faletau at No.8 and Louis Rees-Zammit on the wing are named in the match day XV for a fourth time to start in all of Wales’ pool matches this tournament.

Tommy Reffell returns at openside flank alongside Aaron Wainwright at blindside flanker.

Dafydd Jenkins is named in the second row to make his second start and fourth tournament appearance. He partners Will Rowlands who starts his third match of this World Cup.

Gareth Anscombe, who equalled the record of most points by a Wales men’s player in a single game at a World Cup last time out with 23 (shared with Dan Biggar), starts at flyhalf. Tomos Williams is at scrumhalf.


Nick Tompkins and George North continue their centre partnership for the third time this competition. North is making his 19th RWC appearance in his fourth tournament.

Rio Dyer starts his second RWC match at wing. Liam Williams is named at fullback

Among Wales’ replacements Elliot Dee, Nicky Smith and Henry Thomas are the front row cover. Christ Tshiunza is in line to make his second RWC appearance and Taine Basham is the final forward replacement for the third consecutive match.

The back line cover is provided by Gareth Davies, Sam Costelow and Mason Grady.


Wales: 15 Liam Williams; 14 Louis Rees Zammit, 13 George North, 12 Nick Tompkins, 11 Rio Dyer; 10 Gareth Anscombe, 9 Tomos Williams, 8 Taulupe Faletau, 7 Tommy Reffell, 6 Aaron Wainwright; 5 Dafydd Jenkins, 4 Will Rowlands; 3 Tomas Francis, 2 Dewi Lake (Captain), 1 Gareth Thomas.
Replacements: 16 Elliot Dee, 17 Nicky Smith, 18 Henry Thomas, 19 Dafydd Jenkins, 20 Taine Basham, 21 Gareth Davies, 22 Sam Costelow, 23 Mason Grady.

Date: Saturday, October 7
Venue: Stade de la Beaujoire, Nantes
Kick-off: 15.00 ( 13.00 GMT; 14.00 UK & Ireland time, 19.00 GET)
Referee: Mathieu Raynal (France)
Assistant Referees: James Doleman (New Zealand) & Pierre Brousset (France)
TMO: Brendon Pickerill (New Zealand)

Join free

Walk the Talk | Ardie Savea | Trailer

New Zealand v Canada | Pacific Four Series 2024 | Full Match Replay

HSBC Sevens Challenger Series - Munich Day Two Replay

HSBC Sevens Challenger Series - Krakow Day Two Replay

Japan Rugby League One Semi-Final | Wildknights v Eagles | Full Match Replay

Japan Rugby League One Semi-Final | Bravelupus v Sungoliath | Full Match Replay

Pieter-Steph du Toit, The Malmesbury Missile, in conversation with Big Jim

Chasing The Sun | Series 1 Episode 1

Write A Comment