Sun 6 Oct 2019 | 06:15

RECAP: New Zealand v Namibia

RECAP: New Zealand v Namibia
Sun 6 Oct 2019 | 06:15
RECAP: New Zealand v Namibia

READERS’ FORUM: Welcome to the World Cup pool match between New Zealand and Namibia in Tokyo.


The All Blacks have played Namibia at a World Cup before – in 2015 at the Olympic Stadium. Then New Zealand won 58-14.

*For the match report: CLICK HERE! 

There are five All Blacks and eight Namibians from that match who will be meeting in this clash in Tokyo.

The All Blacks are Ben Smith, who was on the bench then, Sam Cane, Sam Whitelock, Codie Taylor and TJ Perenara, who was then in the starting XV. Ben Smith and Taylor scored tries.

The Namibians are Johan Tromp, Johan Deysel, who scored Namibia’s only try in that match, Janco Venter, Tjiuee Uanivi, PJ Van Lill, Torsten van Jaarsveld, and two players who are on the bench this time – Eugene Jantjies, and Aranos Coetzee.

Prediction: The Springboks won by 54 points but they scored just one try in the last 20 minutes. It is a common belief that the Springboks slacken off when the match is won but the All Blacks keep going flat out to the end. Against Canada, New Zealand won 63-0 but scored no points in the last 20 minutes. But, without a shadow of doubt, the All Blacks will beat Namibia by a hefty score – 40 points or more. And yet the Namibians will come away from the match proud.

* To read our full preview, CLICK HERE!

* Our live blog will appear below, it might take a little while to load, please be patient. We apologise for the inconvenience!

Load more


Namibia: 15 Johan Tromp, 14 Lesley Klim, 13 Justin Newman, 12 Johan Deysel (captain), 11 JC Greyling, 10 Helarius Axasman Kisting, 9 Damian Stevens, 8 Janco Venter, 7 Thomasau Forbes, 6 Prince Gaoseb, 5 Tjiuee Uanivi, 4 PJ Van Lill, 3 AJ De Klerk, 2 Torsten van Jaarsveld, 1 Andre Rademeyer.
Replacements: 16 Obert Nortjé, 17 Nelius Theron, 18 Aranos Coetzee, 19 Johan Retief, 20 Adriaan Booysen, 21 Eugene Jantjies, 22 Darryl De La Harpe, 23 Janry du Toit.


New Zealand: 15 Ben Smith, 14 Sevu Reece, 13 Jack Goodhue, 12 Anton Lienert-Brown, 11 George Bridge, 10 Jordie Barrett, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Ardie Savea, 7 Sam Cane, 6 Shannon Frizell, 5 Sam Whitelock (captain), 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Nepo Laulala, 2 Codie Taylor, 1 Joe Moody.
Replacements: 16 Dane Coles, 17 Ofa Tu’ungafasi, 18 Angus Ta’avao, 19 Patrick Tuipulotu, 20 Matt Todd, 21 Brad Weber, 22 TJ Perenara, 23 Rieko Ioane.

Referee: Pascal Gaüzère (France)
Assistant referees: Luke Pearce (England), Shuhei Kubo (Japan)
TMO: Rowan Kitt (England)

PV: 5634
RECAP: New Zealand v Namibia - namibia | Rugby365