Wed 13 Oct 2021 | 01:15

Aimee on URC debut

Aimee on URC debut
Wed 13 Oct 2021 | 01:15
Aimee on URC debut

ROUND FOUR REFEREEING APPOINTMENTS: Aimee Barret-Theron will take the whistle this weekend making her United Rugby Championship debut as she becomes the third female referee to appear in the league.


The former South African female international has been appointed to the Round Four game between Benetton and Ospreys.

Barrett-Theron, a former Women’s international and South African Sevens representative, has played in two female World Cups, and after hanging up her boots, took up the whistle in 2014.

She has gradually progressed up the ranks and made her international refereeing breakthrough on the World Women’s Sevens panel in 2016 (refereeing at the Rio Olympic Games), a year before she was included on the SA B-panel for men.

Making her Test debut as a referee in 2016 (Fiji v Japan) and also officiated in the Women’s Six Nations before earning an appointment to the World Cup in Ireland 2017.

Barret-Theron has refereed in 18 Tests and six senior men’s games to date.

She will become the third female official to be appointed to a league fixture.


She follows in the footsteps of Hollie Davidson (Scotland) who made her debut in March 2021 & Joy Neville (Ireland) in February 2018.

Match officials for Round 4 of the United Rugby Championship:


Ulster v Lions
(Ravenhill Stadium, Belfast – Kick-off: 19.35 (20.35 SA time; 18.35 GMT)

Referee: Mike Adamson (Scotland)
Assistant referees: Robert O’Sullivan (Ireland), Dermot Blake (Ireland)
TMO: Andrew McMenemy (Scotland)

Dragons v Stormers
(Rodney Parade, Newport – Kick-off: 19.35 (20.35 SA; 18.35 GMT)

Referee: Gianluca Gnecchi (Italy)
Assistant referees: Gwyn Morris (Wales), Ben Breakspear (Wales)
TMO: Emanuele Tomo (Italy)


Zebre v Glasgow Warriors
(Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi, Parma – Kick-off: 14.00 (13.00 IRE & UK; 12.00 GMT)

Referee: Andrew Brace (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Riccardo Angelucci (Italy), Dario Merli (Italy)
TMO: Leo Colgan (Ireland)

Benetton v Ospreys
(Stadio Comunable Di Monigo, Treviso – Kick-off: 16.05 (15.05 IRE & UK; 14.05 GMT)

Referee: Aimee Barret–Theron (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Filippo Russo (Italy), Alex Frasson (Italy)
TMO: Stefano Penne (Italy)

Leinster v Scarlets
(RDS, Dublin – Kick-off: 17.15 (16.15 GMT)

Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Stuart Gaffikin (Ireland), Shane Kierans (Ireland)
TMO: Paul Larter (Scotland)

Edinburgh v Bulls
(Edinburgh Stadium, Edinburgh – Kick-off: 17.15 (18.15 SA; 16.15 GMT)

Referee: Ben Whitehouse (Wales)
Assistant referees: Ben Blain (Scotland), Graeme Ormiston (Scotland)
TMO: Sean Brickell (Wales)

Munster v Connacht
(Thomond Park, Limerick – Kick-off: 19.35 (18.35 GMT)

Referee: Chris Busby (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Frank Murphy (Ireland), Paul Haycock (Ireland)
TMO: Brian MacNeice (Ireland)

Cardiff v Sharks
(Arms Park, Cardiff – Kick-off: 19.35 (20.35 SA time; 18.35 GMT)

Referee: Sam Grove-White (Scotland)
Assistant referees: TBC, Wayne Davies (Wales)
TMO: Andrew McMenemy (Scotland)


PV: 4