Wed 5 Nov 2014 | 07:50

SA Referees' Panels for 2015

SA Referees' Panels for 2015
Wed 5 Nov 2014 | 07:50
SA Referees' Panels for 2015

The SA Rugby Referees' Association has made known the panels for 2015. There are changes.

The most obvious change from this time last year is that Marius Jonker is no longer on the Elite Panel. He has retired from top-flight refereeing after a splendid career that included 25 Tests and numerous Currie Cup and Super Rugby matches, a familiar figure and much admired referee on the rugby fields of the world.

Two others have gone from the Elite Panel of 10 referees – Christie du Preez who had made a comeback this year but has now stopped again, and Lourens van der Merwe, who is now on the National Panel. Their places have been taken by Rodney Bonaparte and Quinton Immelman.

Both Jonker and Du Preez have now been included on the TMO panel.

There is another big change of a whole panel. As the IRB and SANZAR have done, the specialist assistant referees' panel has been disbanded and there will be a greater use of full-time referees.

The Elite Panel for 2015

Stuart Berry
Rodney Boneparte
Quinton Immelman
Jason Jaftha
Craig Joubert
Lesego Legoete
Jaco Peyper
Rasta Rasivhenge, who is on sabbatical in Australia
Marius van der Westhuizen
Jaco van Heerden

The National Panel

The National Panel has undergone radical changes. There are 16 referees instead of 18 and they are divided into two groups, of which Group A has the higher-rated referees, which naturally will bring them slightly better appointments. The distinction makes appointing easier. Several referees have dropped off the National Panel, not because they are bad referees but because they have not really made the step up to the Elite Panel after some years and so have been replaced to give others a chance to show their worth. Those referees will still have a chance to make a comeback by refereeing well in their own provinces – as happened to Mark Lawrence, Lyndon Bray and Tony Spreadbury at international level.

Those no longer on the National Panel are Rodney Bonaparte and Quinton Immelman who are now on the Elite Panel, Gerrie de Bruin, Daniel Fortuin, Lusanda Jam, Sindile Mayende, who has a big management job in the difficult Border union, Lihan Pretorius who has been injured all year and could well return to the panel via a successful fitness test, and Eduan Nel.. Those who have come onto the National Panel since last year are Lourens van der Merwe, AJ Jacobs and five of the B Group – Vusi Msibi, Sandile Nqcese, Fernando Uithaler, Ricus van der Hoven and Renier Vermeulen.

Group A

The first four of the referees on this panel are reserves to the Elite Panel
Ben Crouse
Stephan Geldenhuys
Cwengile Jadezweni
Francois Pretorius

AJ Jacobs (Griffons)
Tahla Ntshakaza (Valke)
Jaco Pretorius (Valke)
Oregopotse Rametsi (Leopards)
Archie Sehlako (KwaZulu-Natal)
Lourens van der Merwe (Free State)

Group B

Jaco Kotze (Free State)
Vusi Msibi (KwaZulu-Natal)
Sindile Nqcese (Eastern Province)
Fernando Uithaler (Eastern Province)
Ricus van der Hoven (Pumas)
Renier Vermeulen (Golden Lions)

SARRA Squads

Contender Squad

The Contender Squad is smaller than it has been in the past and is made up of referees who have come through the Academy in Stellenbosch.

One of the squad is Egon Seconds, in his playing days a speedy wing for Western Province and the Stormers.

Johre Botha (Valke)
Jan Ruaan du Preez (Golden Lions)
Pieter Maritz (Blue Bulls)
Ruhan Meiring (South Western Districts)
Paul Mente (Leopards)
Godwill Morebe (Leopards)
Jacques Nieuwenhuis (Valke)
Khotso Raleting (Free State)
Egan Seconds (Western Province)

Women: B Panel

In her playing days Aimee Barrett played rugby for South Africa.

Aimee Barrett (Western Province)
Larentia Fred (South Western Districts)
Ashleigh Murray (Golden Lions)
Henchalla Oerson (Boland)
Academy Squad

TBC by Eugene Daniel

Siyanda Belinda Ketse (Free State)
Motshidisi Maria Mabote (Griffons)
Le-Ann MacClune (South Western Districts)

TMO Panel

Christie du Preez (Eastern Province)
Johan Greeff (Blue Bulls)
Marius Jonker (KwaZulu-Natal)
Deon van Blommestein (Western Province)
Shaun Veldsman (Boland)
Willie Vos (Golden Lions)
JJ Wagner (Griquas)

SARU Selectors

Mark Lawrence – Manager
Neville Heilbron (SARU)
Keith Hendricks (Boland)
Dennis Immelman (Western Province)
Willie Roos (Valke)
Deon van Blommestein (Western Province)
Banks Yantolo (Border)

Performance Reviewers

Jacques Hugo (Eastern Province)
Thuso Mngqibisa (Western Province)
Pierre Oelofse (Valke) (convener)
Kim Smit (Pumas)

SARU Coaches

National Coaches

Mark Lawrence – Manager
Balie Swart – Scrum coach
Deon van Blommestein

Academy Coaches

Eugene Daniel – Manager Academy Squad

Peer Coaches

Stuart Berry
Jason Jaftha
Craig Joubert
Jaco Peyper
Marius van der Westhuizen

PV: 20

Sa Referees' Panels For 2015 | Rugby365