Get Newsletter

Rainbow Cup alternative: Springbok Tri-series

OPINION: With the Rainbow Cup now effectively turned into a domestic series – another version of the Currie Cup – @rugby365com contributor Angus Opperman has come up with a novel idea.


He proposed a Tri-series between capped Springboks based abroad, capped Springboks based in South African and a team of uncapped hopefuls (based in SA and abroad).

Not only will the Tri-series give the players some much-needed high-intensity preparation for the British and Irish Lions, but it will be a change from the jejune and monotonous nature of yet another series of domestic derbies.

Some of the players are currently injured, but are well on their way back to recovery and have been included.

* Let us know what you think of his selections and who he missed out. Perhaps even give us your prediction as to a possible winner of the Tri-series.


Overseas Bok XV: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cheslin Kolbe, 13 Jan Serfontein, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Francois de Klerk, 8 Jean Luc du Preez, 7 Franco Mostert, 6 Albertus Smith, 5 Lodewyk de Jager, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Coenie Oosthuizen.
Replacements: 16 Armand van der Merwe, 17 Marcel van der Merwe, 18 Wilco Louw, 19 Rudolf Snyman, 20 Rynhardt Elstadt, 21 Cobus Reinach, 22 Elton Jantjies, 23 Jesse Kriel.

Unused replacements: Dillyn Leyds, André Esterhuizen, Jason Jenkins, Daniel du Preez, Marco van Staden, Ivan van Zyl.

Local XV : 15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Sibusiso Nkosi, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Marcell Coetzee, 6 Siyamthanda Kolisi, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 Pieter Steph du Toit, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Mbongeni Mbonambi, 1 Steven Kitshoff.
Replacements: 16 Siyabonga Ntubeni, 17 Lizo Gqoboka, 18 Trevor Nyakane, 19 Willem Alberts, 20 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 21 Embrose Papier, 22 Damian Willemse, 23 Cornal Hendricks.


Bok hopefuls XV: 15 Aphelele Fassi, 14 Rosko Speckman, 13 Wandisile Simelane, 12 Ruhan Nel, 11 Yaw Penxe, 10 Tiaan Swanepoel, 9 Sanele Nohamba, 8 Juarno Augustus, 7 Jasper Wiese, 6 Jaco Coetzee, 5 John Schickerling, 4 Salmaan Moerat, 3 Carlu Sadie, 2 Joseph Dweba, 1 Allister Vermaak.


Join free

Fresh Starts | Episode 1 | Will Skelton


Aotearoa Rugby Podcast | Episode 8

James Cook | The Big Jim Show | Full Episode

New Zealand victorious in TENSE final | Cathay/HSBC Sevens Day Three Men's Highlights

New Zealand crowned BACK-TO-BACK champions | Cathay/HSBC Sevens Day Three Women's Highlights

Japan Rugby League One | Steelers v Sungoliath | Full Match Replay

Rugby Europe Women's Championship | Netherlands v Spain

Write A Comment