Get Newsletter

Team of the Week: Readers are rather Bullish

OPINION: The @rugby365com readers wanted to have a vote and got their wish. They were rather Bullish when selecting their Currie Cup Round Two Team of the Week.


There are eight Bulls players in the starting XV, four Lions and three from Western Province.

Another five Bulls players are Bubbling Under (next best according to the readers), while six Lions are also in the back-up category.

The most dominant selection was the Bulls’ openside flank Marco van Staden, who polled 80 percent of the votes in his position.

He is followed by teammates Duane Vermeulen (69 percent) and Morné Steyn (67 percent).

Tiaan Swanepoel (Lions – 61 percent), Steven Kitshoff (WP – 53 percent) and Stean Pienaar (Lions – 52 percent) also got absolute majorities.

The Bulls duo of Johan Grobbelaar and Walt Steenkamp got in at exactly 50 percent.


The tightest race was at outside centre – where Ruhan Nel (WP) got 34 percent of the votes and Stedman Gans (Bulls) 31 percent.

Left wing – Courtnall Skosan (Lions – 25 percent) versus Eduan Keyter (Griquas – 20 percent) – and No.4 lock – Willem Alberts (Lions – 35 percent) versus Sintu Manjezi (Bulls – 29 percent) – were also pretty close.

Currie Cup standings

Readers’ Team of the Week

15. Tiaan Swanepoel (Lions)
Next best: Kurt-Lee Arendse (Bulls)

14. Stean Pienaar (Lions)
Next best: David Kriel (Bulls)


13. Ruhan Nel (WP)
Next best: Stedman Gans (Bulls)

12. Cornal Hendricks (Bulls)
Next best: Burger Odendaal (Lions)

11. Courtnall Skosan (Lions)
Next best: Eduan Keyter (Griquas)

10 Morne Steyn (Bulls)
Next best: Elton Jantjies (Lions)

9. Embrose Papier (Bulls)
Next best: Ross Cronje (Lions)

8. Duane Vermeulen (Bulls)
Next best: Jeandré Rudolph (Cheetahs)

7. Arno Botha (Bulls)
Next best: Vincent Tshituka (Lions)

6. Marco van Staden (Bulls)
Next best: Jaco Kriel (Lions)

5. Walt Steenkamp (Bulls)
Next best: JD Schickerling (WP)

4. Willem Alberts (Lions)
Next best: Sintu Manjezi (Bulls)

3. Frans Malherbe (WP)
Next best: Trevor Nyakane (Bulls)

2. Johan Grobbelaar (Bulls)
Next best: Bongi Mbonambi (WP)

1. Steven Kitshoff (WP)
Next best: Sti Sithole (Lions)


Write A Comment