Wed 19 Jul 2017 | 08:12

Border CD demolished by Kota-led Griffons

Border CD demolished by Kota-led Griffons
Wed 19 Jul 2017 | 08:12
Border CD demolished by Kota-led Griffons

It was one-way traffic from as early as the opening minute when the Griffons got the scoring going and proceeded to score a total of nine first half tries. They added a further six tries in the second half and could have added more points to their tally, had they opted to attempt all their conversions.


Kota, Triumph Boloyi and Verlyn van Vollenhoven each bagged hat-tricks in the one-sided encounter. 

The Griffons got off to a flying start as fullback Qamani Kota gathered a loose ball inside his half and set off on a blistering run. He broke down the left touchline, stepped around a would-be defender and raced away to dot down. He added the extras to hand his side a 7-0 lead after two minutes.

The Griffons were high on confidence and continued to push. A good break by No.8 Ulrich Stander cut through Border CD's defence and his offload found wing Triumph Boloyi, who had an easy canter over. Kota failed with the conversion but the lead was stretched to 12-0 after 10 minutes.

The centre's combined for the Griffons' third try as Keith van Aswegen broke and offloaded to Verlyn van Vollenhoven, who raced away to score. Kota failed once again to add the extras as the lead stretched to 17-0 after 13 minutes.

Van Aswegen went from provider to scorer a minute later when he ran a good supporting line to receive an offload from Kota. Kota added the conversion to stretch the lead to 24-0 after 14 minutes.

The Griffons bagged a further two tries in quick succession as both Boloyi and Kota grabbed their second tries of the game as the Griffons took a 36-0 lead in the 20th minute.

At this point the Griffons opted not to kick their conversions if the try was not scored under the uprights.


Dillon Minnaar made it seven tries in the first half before Boloyi completed his hat-trick on the half-hour mark. Kota slotted just one conversion as the Griffons stretched their lead to 48-0. Brandon Botha took his sid's tally over the 50-point mark when he dotted down just before the half-time interval, taking the lead to 53-0.

The Griffons continued to dominate and bagged their 10th try early in the second half as centre van Vollenhoven went over for his second of the match to ensure a 58-0 lead after 38 minutes. Christo Steyn and Kota – his hat-trick – piled on more misery as the Griffons took their tally to 70 unanswered points.

van Vollenhoven completed his hat-trick in the 551st minute before Border CD finally had something to smile about. They went on the attack and found a hole in the Griffons' defence, which allowed Luzuko Mpepo to muscle his way over to trail 5-75 after 55 minutes.

Francois Maree took his side's tally to the 80-point mark in the 66th minute when he dotted down the Griffons' 14 try of the match, which proved to be the final points.



For the Griffons:

Tries: Qamani Kota 3, Triumph Boloyi 3, Verlyn van Vollenhoven 3, Keith van Aswegen, Dillon Minnaar, Brandon Botha, Christo Steyn, Francois Maree

Cons: Qamani Kota 5

For Border CD:

Try: Luzuko Mpepo


Griffons: 15 Qamani Kota (Welkom Gimnasium), 14 Triumph Boloyi (Goudveld), 13 Verlyn van Vollenhoven (Welkom Gimnasium), 12 Keith van Aswegen (Welkom Gimnasium), 11 Francois Maree (Welkom Gimnasium), 10 Jason Wagman (Welkom Gimnasium), 9 Owen Kleynhans (Hentie Cilliers), 8 Ulrich Stander (Welkom Gimnasium), 7 Christo Steyn (Welkom Gimnasium), 6 Brandon Botha (Welkom Gimnasium), 5 Hussayn Banzi (Welkom Gimnasium), 4 DJ Hatting (Afrikaanse Hoërskool Kroonstad), 3 Jan Wolfaardt Meades (Witteberg), 2 Dillon Minnaar (Welkom Gimnasium), 1 Francois Klopper (Bethlehem Voortrekker), 16 Kenneth Sheppard (Hentie Cilliers), 17 Daniel Jordaan (Witteberg), 18 Carl Senyane (Welkom Gimnasium), 19 Regard Smallberger (Bethlehem Voortrekker), 20 Marnich Thessner (Welkom Gimnasium), 21 Georgen Kiewiet (Welkom Gimnasium), 22 Dealine Jafta (Hentie Cilliers), 23 Brendan van der Walt (Afrikaans Hoërskool Kroonstad).

Border Country Districts: 15 Athenkosi Mbongoza (Khanyisa), 14 Inga Litha Dyantyi (Maclear), 13 Likhona Simoyi (Khanyisa), 12 Mfundiso Deda (Khanyisa), 11 Xola Ngqoshana (Ugie High), 10 Lonwabo Roto (St John’s), 9. Adriaan Jordaan (Hangklip), 8. Azola Faleni (Thomas Ntaba), 7. Johannes Kruger (Hangklip), 6 Yamkela Pama (CHB), 5 Sinethemba Stephen (Thomas Ntaba), 4 Regalia Ngalimani (Ugie), 3 Sixolile Mapoloba (Elliot), 2 Lizalise Madzidzela (Mtata), 1 Pilisa Nondonga (CHB), 16 Thulani Zotho (CHB), 17 Sinelwizi Mlenzana (Ugie), 18 Kwanele Tshungwana (Dudumayo), 19 Nkosintle Xamlashe (Doodrecht), 20 Apiwe Mangoloti (Maclear), 21 Likhaya Tengimfene (Hangklip), 22 Whez Gwedisa (CHB).

Referee: Paul Mente 

Assistant referees: Divan Uys, Johre Botha

PV: 3