Tue 2 Jul 2019 | 03:38

Bulls fight back to down Border

Bulls fight back to down Border
Tue 2 Jul 2019 | 03:38
Bulls fight back to down Border

CRAVEN WEEK REPORT: The Blue Bulls overturned a seven-point half-time deficit to claim a 35-24 victory over Border on Day 2 of the 2019 Craven Week.


Border looked in control of the match heading into half-time with a 17-10 lead but the Blue Bulls found their rhythm in the second half to score five tries, despite Border having the upperhand for most of the game.

Border made the perfect start as they managed to breach the Blue Bulls’ defence as early as the fourth minute. After numerous phases and the hard work being done by the pack of forwards, scrumhalf Daimon O’Connel found Jarrod Taylor, who forced his way over.

The Bulls were on the board five minutes later though as a measured attack, with the ball being passed through the backline, was rounded off by Geraldo Flusk who spotted a half-gap and burst his way through to level matters at 5-5 after nine minutes.

Back came Border though as a snipe around the blindside by O’Connel saw acres of space being opened up for wing Indiphile Tyeda to stretch his legs and race away for his side’s second try of the match and restore their five-point lead, 10-5 after 12 minutes.

The Blue Bulls only had themselves to blame in the first half as they gave away numerous penalties that ensured Border maintained the upperhand to keep the Bulls under pressure. That pressure forced the Bulls into a poor clearance kick, which was pounced on by Border captain Mntungwa Mapansela. A massive gap opened for him and he accepted the chance to score his side’s third try. Warrick Day converted to extend their lead to 17-10 after 27 minutes.

The Bulls would have the final say in the half though as a Border error in defence allowed Raynard Roets to get his side back in the game. A poor decision by Border who opted to run the ball out of their 22 resulted in the ball popping free at the breakdown and Roets cantered in to score as the Bulls went into the break trailing 10-17.


Border were under pressure from the restart and the pressure told as they conceded two tries in as many minutes to see their lead become a deficit. First, Christian Kamffer muscled his way over from close range before Nsuku Baloyi backed his speed to get around the final defender to hand his side the lead. Wikus Basson managed a solitary conversion to ensure the Blue Bulls led 22-17 lead after 45 minutes.

Taking the lead gave the Bulls the confidence they needed as they increased their lead to 13 points with 15 minutes remaining in the game. Basson added a 40-metre penalty to his team’s tally before MJ Janse van Rensburg finished off an impressive try that started with Flusk breaking the line.

Flusk’s break made space on the outside for Janse van Rensburg to canter home from 30 metres out to ensure the Bulls’ lead stretched to 30-17. The result was put to bed in the 66th minute when Baloyi showed immense speed and power to score his second try of the match and extend the Bulls’ lead to 35-17.

Border had the final say though as hooker Jacques Goosen scored a deserved try in the final play of the game to bring some respectability to the scoreline. Day added the extras before the referee blew the final whistle.



For Blue Bulls:
Tries: Flusk, Roets, Kamffer, Baloyi 2, Janse van Rensburg
Con: Basson
Pen: Basson

For Border:
Tries: Taylor, Tyeda, Mapansela, Goosen
Cons: Day 2


Blue Bulls: 1 Dima Lebelo, 2 Jacques-Louis du Toit, 3 Gerhard van der Merwe, 4 Kabelo Muchimane, 5 Raynard Roets, 6 MJ Janse van Rensburg, 7 Simon Muller, 8 Willie Potgieter, 9 Jurich Claasens, 10 Wikus Basson, 11 Geraldo Flusk, 12 AJ Johnson, 13 Bradley Mayekiso, 14 Nsuku Baloyi, 15 Zeilinga Strydom, 16 Enrique Courtiers, 17 Nolan Pienaar, 18 Sbewu Fipaza, 19 Christian Kamffer, 20 Guy-Flori Kibongo, 21 Rowan Cloete, 22 Malcolm Langa, 23 Hope Sandisiwe.

Border: 1 Oscar Myataza, 2 Jacques Goosen, 3 Ali Gqaza, 4 Cullen Opperman, 5 Tyler-Jesse Glover, 6 Joshua van Vreden, 7 Jarrod Taylor, 8 Raiden Masters, 9 Daimon O’Connel, 10 Warrick Day, 11 Indiphile Tyeda, 12 Mntungwa Mapansela (captain), 13 Josh Jonas, 14 Ronaldo Daniels, 15 Sibusiso Javu, 16 Oyisa Dyani, 17 Bubele Madiba, 18 Simnikiwe Gege, 19 Dean Stokes, 20 Jaylon Hamann, 21 Sihlalo Benge, 22 Mmangaliso Mphinda, 23 Bulumko Mfundisi.

Referee: Griffin Colby (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Paul Mente, Dirkie Laas
TMO: Lourens van der Merwe (South Africa)

PV: 50