Thu 20 Jul 2017 | 09:06

EP CD bag first win in windy Jozi

EP CD bag first win in windy Jozi
Thu 20 Jul 2017 | 09:06
EP CD bag first win in windy Jozi

The EP CD scored six tries to two, which included a brace by Jack Allanson.


EP CD used the strong wind conditions to their advantage, fullback Nevaldo Fleurs boot – along with flyhalf Murray Koster's – got the side in Zimbabwe's 22 throughout the first half.   

From the kick-off, EP CD already looked dangerous on attack. They collected the ball and after just three minutes of play, they opened the score. A great loop pass by Nevaldo Fleurs to Jack Allanson made sure the centre strolled down in the right corner for the try, 5-0.

From the restart, Zimbabwe hit back. They were rewarded with an opportunity to add the three points. However, they opted for a line-out which proved to be fruitful. The side had an attacking scrum and eventually, Mazvitaishe Nyamarebvu burst through the middle and scored.  

Tinashe Hombiro made sure his side take the lead with a successful conversion, 7-5.

Zimbabwe's lead was brief, as EP CD put on a 10-point buffer which included two tries and one conversion.

Courtesy of strong scrum by the forwards and a quick pass by scrumhalf Oscar Reese Evans got Jack Allanson over the chalk for his brace. While, the other one was scored by Johannes Lombard, who stepped his way past two defenders and dotted down under the post.


Murray Koster added the extras for the 17-7 lead.

Before the break, EP CD added to their tally. Thanks to Matthew Robertson, the try scorer broke to the inside and recollected the ball from the breakdown to muscle his way over the chalk for the points.

Fleurs' accurate kick from the tee extended their lead to 24-7.

EP CD picked up where they left off, they forced the knock-on and soon added to their tally. The lanky lock Jason Brown pounced on a loose ball and stretched over the try-line, 29-7 within one minute of the second stanza.  


Despite the huge points difference, Zimbabwe continued with their brave on attack and were soon rewarded. They won a penalty inside EP CD's half. The scrumhalf Michael Mhute's quick tap-and-go was followed up with an inside ball to Mazvitaishe Nyamarebvu, who sneaked through the defence and dived over for his brace.

Tinashe Hombiro added the extras to trail, 14-29.

Since the try, Zimbabwe really enjoyed the majority of possession in the second half but handling errors and horrendous passes just hindered their ability to turn it into points.

As the game drew to a close, the referee handed out two yellow cards. One to EP CD's centre Vivian Kapp for a dangerous tackle and the other to Zimbabwe for a high tackle.

EP CD always looked the better side and proved that in the last minutes of the match. The side had an attacking scrum on Zimbabwe's five, they managed to shift it wide, where Claude Jacobs was all too happy to conclude a wonderful a team try.

The scorers:


Tries:  Jack Allanson 2, Johannes Lombard, Matthew Robertson, Jason Brown, Claude Jacobs

Cons: Murray Koster, Nevaldo Fleurs

For Zimbabwe

Tries: Mazvitaishe Nyamarebvu 2

Cons: Tinashe Hombiro 2

Yellow cards: Vivian Kapp (Eatsen Province CD, 61 – Dangerous Tackle), TBC (Zimbabwe, 69- High tackle)

Eastern Province Country Districts: 15 Nevaldo Fleurs (Marlow), 14 Sivuyisiwe Ngqiyaza (Graeme), 13 Vivian Kapp, 12 Jack Allanson (St Andrew's), 11 Sive Etoo Nako (Aliwal North), 10 Murray Koster (St Andrew's), 9 Oscar Reese Evans (St Andrew's), 8 Zadok Robert Kakani (St Andrew's), 7 Mhlangabezi Ntwanambi (Graeme), 6 Jurgens Human (Marlow), 5 Jason Brown (St Andrew's), 4 Ikheteleng Nkereanya (St Andrew's), 3 Callum Dugmore (St Andrew's), 2 Dean Jenkins (St Andrew's), 1 Chulumankco Lupumlo Mngxaso (St Andrew's), 16 Johannes Swart (Marlow), 17 Marno Beyl (Marlow), 18 Wonga Wakashe (Graeme), 19 Cornelius Jacobus Vorster (Marlow), 20 Athini Galada (Kingswood), 21 Johannes Lombard (Gill), 22 Matthew Robertson (Marlow), 23 Claude Jacobs (Marlow).

Zimbabwe:  15 Leroy Kagodora, 14 Tapiwa Marimira, 13 Tadiwa Muchemwa, 12 Mazvitaishe Nyamarebvu, 11 Tafedziswa Bunu, 10 Tinashe Hombiro, 9 Dillon Brain, 8 Ronald Mirimi, 7 Ryan Smith, 6 Jack Charsley, 5 Davin King, 4 Dexter Trail, 3 Brendan Mudzikitiri, 2 Tradiwanashe Mabhudhu, 1 Rivaldo Kwidini, 16 Marcus Nichole, 17 Kudakwashe Mashonga, 18 Cody Rensburg, 19 Prince Mupfurutsa, 20 Simbarashe Chingono, 21 Michael Mhute, 22 Lameck Vheriwa, 23 Lebukgang Mokuele.

Referee: Eduan Nel

Assistant referees: Archie Sehlako, Mpho Matsaung

Assessor: Pierre Oelofse

PV: 3