Fri 26 May 2017 | 09:25

Glenwood power KZN Youth Teams

Glenwood power KZN Youth Teams
Fri 26 May 2017 | 09:25
Glenwood power KZN Youth Teams

That means that there are boys going to Craven Week and the Academy Week who are not always first-choice players for their own 1st XVs but are better than boys from other schools who are. It tells the tale of Glenwood's leading role in KwaZulu Natal schools rugby.

KwaZulu Natal Craven Week Team

Glenwood dominate the side, which is hardly surprising, because, again, this year they carry highest the KwaZulu Natal schools rugby flag.

In the squad of 23 players, there are 13 from Glenwood in the team, five from DHS, three from Maritzburg College and one each from Kearsney and Michaelhouse.

Of the squad JJ van der  Mescht, Phendulani Buthelezi, Cham Zondeki, Fezokuhle Mbatha, Sanele Nohamba and Dylan Richardson were at the 2016 Craven Week. Then Richardson was chosen as a hooker, this year as an eighthman.

*The Craven Week this year will be later than usual from 17 to 22 July at St Stithians College in Randburg

KwaZulu Natal Craven Week Squad

15 Siyanda Cele (Glenwood)
14 Morné van Rensburg (Glenwood)
13 Conan le Fleur (Glenwood)
12 Rynard Jonker (Glenwood)
11 Cham Zondeki (DHS)
10 Dylan Pretorius (Glenwood)
9 Sanele Nohamba (DHS)
8 Phendulani Buthelezi (DHS)
7 Dylan Richardson (Kearsney)
6 Dylan Kruger (Glenwood)
5 JJ van der Mescht (Glenwood)
4 Edward Laubscher (Glenwood)
3 Keynan Knox (Michaelhouse)
2 Fezokuhle Mbatha (Maritzburg College)
1 Jordan Clarke (Glenwood)
16 De Wet Truter (Glenwood)
17 Thabiso Mdeltshe (Glenwood)
18 Brendon Schwultz (Glenwood)
19 Celimpilo Gumede (DHS)
20 Nthuthko Mchunu (Maritzburg College)
21 Jaden Hendrickse (Glenwood)
22 Njabulo Mjara (Maritzburg College)
23 Lwandile Menze (DHS)

KwaZulu Natal Academy Week Squad

Glenwood have another six in the Academy Week side, which means that 19 of the school's Under-18 players will be in the two KwaZulu Natal representative teams.

Hilton have most players in the Academy week wide with eight, followed by Glenwood, DHS (4), Kearsney and Maritzburg College with two each and Michaelhouse with one.

*As happened in 2016, the Academy Week will run concurrently with the Craven Week – from 17 to 22 July at St Stithians College in Randburg.

KwaZulu Natal Academy squad

15 De Wet Truter (Glenwood)
14 Luthando Buthelezi (DHS)
13 Chipo Mupeso (Hilton)
12 R Atwell (Glenwood)
11 Tonderai Ndzuzo (DHS)
10 Joe Jonas (Glenwood)
9 Graham Curtis (Hilton)
8 George Luzolo (Glenwood)
7 Sibu Sangweni (Kearsney)
6 Vaughn Williams (Hilton)
5 Oliver Culvert-Evers (Michaelhouse)
4 Lunga Ncube (Glenwood)
3 Henty Beukes (Hilton)
2 Timothy Densham (Hilton)
1 Phelelani Zuma (Maritzburg College)
16 Jhacques Thyssen (Glenwood)
17 Sean Barnes (DHS)
18 Sephekahle Dube (Maritzburg College)
19 Kamvelihle Fatyela (DHS)
20 Andrew James (Hilton)
21 Nick Winskill (Hilton)
22 James Sutherland (Kearsney)
23 Fadzai Mushonga (Hilton)

Several of the players in these two teams were at the Grant Khomo Week in 2016: Lwandile Menze, Rynhardt Jonker, Siyanda Cele, Dylan Pretorius, Jaden Hendrickse, Celimpilo Gumede, Lunga Ncube, Sephekahle Dube, Jhaques Thyssen, Jordan Clarke,  Mthokosize Gumede, 18 Thabiso Mdletshe and George Luzolo.

PV: 31

Glenwood Power Kzn Youth Teams | Rugby365