Mon 17 Jul 2017 | 09:59

Limpopo Blue Bulls outmuscle Border CD

Limpopo Blue Bulls outmuscle Border CD
Mon 17 Jul 2017 | 09:59
Limpopo Blue Bulls outmuscle Border CD

Border CD had the better start but Limpopo Blue Bulls asserted their dominance as the match progressed, scoring seven tries to none.

One guy who really stood out in the Limpopo Blue Bulls side was the scrumhalf, Renier Gerber. Thegutsy scrumhalff did not get his name on the scoresheet but set up four of his side's tries.

Limpopo first points were scored by the No.8 Philip Apea-Adu. The No.8 received an inside ball from Gerber, who somehow managed to work his way around three defenders near the touchline. Karel Limbach added the extras, 7-0 lead after just 7 minutes.

After the deadlock was broken, it was all Limpopo Blue Bulls. They appeared more structured than Border CD and looked extremely dangerous with ball in hand while handling errors just dominated every Border CD’s attack.

Lonwabo Roto almost broke Border CD's duck, but his shot at goal fell short from 40 metres out. The flyhalf eventually narrowed the deficit after his second attempt at goal hit the target from a much better position, 3-7 after 25 minutes of play.  

Border CD's penalty kick proved to ignite Limpopo Blue Bulls and minutes later they hit back with a try. Marko Benade’s quick tap-and-go inside the Border CD's 22 was followed up with a powerful leg drive which got the flank over the chalk, 12-3 after 30 minutes.

Roto had another chance to narrow the deficit just before the break, but the flyhalf pushed his kick wide and the score remained 12-3 in favour of Limpopo Blue Bulls.

Matters got worse for Border CD. The side had to end the first stanza with 14 men after prop Pilisa Nondonga failed to retreat 10 metres and was given a yellow card.

Limpopo took full advantage of the extra man as the second-half started. Within five minutes of the restart, they scored two unanswered tries. First, centre Heini Ferreira went over the chalk after yet another great break by Gerber. While the second one came via Lehlogonold Molepo who went over in the corner, 24-3 after 42 minutes.

Border CD's ill-discipline started to creep in and for the second time, they were forced to struggle with 14 men. This time, Athenkosi Mbongoza was given a yellow card. The fullback's absence was immediately felt, especially after Vincent Roos scored Limpopo Blue Bulls' fifth try with 50 minutes on the clock.

On the hour mark, Border CD finally got over the try-line, but unfortunately for them, the ball was lost forward inside Limpopo’s 22.

Instead, it was the men in blue who added to their tally, courtesy of the Ofentse Maubane, who scored a brace of tries to take the score to 41-3 with one minute left on the clock.

From the final restart, Limpopo refused to kick the ball out and continued to attack with Gerber setting up the troops.

They almost had a try, but Border CD's defence denied them try number eight.

The scorers:

For Limpopo Blue Bulls:
: Philip Apea-Adu , Marko Benade, Lehlogonold Molepo, Heini Ferreira, Vincent Roos, Ofentse Maubane 2
Cons: Karel Limbach 3

For Border CD:
Lonwabo Roto

Yellow cards: Pilisa Nondonga (Border CD, 35- Not retreating 10 metres), Athenkosi Mbongoza (Border CD, 48- repeat infringement), Tshepo Masakale (Limpopo Blue Bulls, 55 – Late tackle)

Limpopo: 15 Tshivhandekane Sefole, 14 Ofentse Maubane (Curro Heuwelkruin), 13 Vincent Roos (Ben Viljoen), 12 Heini Ferreira (Ben Vorster), 11 Noko Meshack Malatji (Merensky), 10 Karel Limbach (Eric Louw), 9 Renier Gerber (Curro Heuwelkruin), 8 Philip Apea-Adu (Louis Trichardt), 7 Armich Lottering (Tom Naudé), 6 Marko Benade (Hans Strydom), 5 Gezani Manzini (Ben Vorster), 4 Gerdus Botha (Frikkie Meyer), 3 Barend Lombard (Merensky), 2 Bernard Vermaak (Ben Vorster), 1 Nyiko Ntlemo (Ben Vorster), 16 PJ Botha (Hans Strydom), 17 Cornelius van Staden (Curro Heuwelkruin), 18 Tshepo Masakale (Tom Naudé), 19 CJ Erasmus (Ben Vorster), 20 Ajay Willemse (Piet Potgieter), 21 Lehlogonold Molepo (Ben Vorster), 22 Reece Allan Wynne (Curro Heuwelkruin), 23 Kamogelo Matloa (Tom Naudé)

Border Country Districts: 15 Athenkosi Mbongoza (Khanyisa), 14 Inga Litha Dyantyi (Maclear), 13 Likhona Simoyi (Khanyisa), 12 Mfundiso Deda (Khanyisa), 11 Xola Ngqoshana (Ugie High), 10 Lonwabo Roto (St John’s), 9. Adriaan Jordaan (Hangklip), 8. Azola Faleni (Thomas Ntaba), 7. Johannes Kruger (Hangklip), 6 Yamkela Pama (CHB), 5 Sinethemba Stephen (Thomas Ntaba), 4 Regalia Ngalimani (Ugie), 3 Sixolile Mapoloba (Elliot), 2 Lizalise Madzidzela (Mtata), 1 Pilisa Nondonga (CHB), 16 Thulani Zotho (CHB), 17 Sinelwizi Mlenzana (Ugie), 18 Kwanele Tshungwana (Dudumayo), 19 Nkosintle Xamlashe (Doodrecht), 20 Apiwe Mangoloti (Maclear), 21 Likhaya Tengimfene (Hangklip), 22 Whez Gwedisa (CHB).

Referee: Stephan Geldenhuys 
Assistant referees: Johre Botha, Divan Uys 
Assessor: Pierre Oelofse

PV: 66

Limpopo Blue Bulls Outmuscle Border Cd | Rugby365