Wed 19 Jul 2017 | 11:34

Limpopo takes a bite out of Border

Limpopo takes a bite out of Border
Wed 19 Jul 2017 | 11:34
Limpopo takes a bite out of Border

Limpopo went into the half-time break with a slender 35-20 lead, and despite some second half pressure by Border, managed to keep their noses in front to claim their second victory of the week. For Border, it was their second consecutive defeat.


David Coetzer handed Border an early lead when he slotted a penalty but Limpopo came back firing immediately as they ran the Border defence ragged. Vincent Roos, Noko Meshack Malatji and Tshivhandekane Sefole all dotted down inside the opening 13 minutes.

Reece Allan Wynne added all three conversions to take a 21-3 lead. However, Border hit back with their first try through Siphamandla Matsinya, after a charge down inside Limpopo's 22. Coetzer failed with the conversion as Border trailed 8-21 in the 15th minute.

Matsinya was in the thick of things again a minute later when he reacted quickest to score his second of the match. Coetzer must have forgotten his kicking boots at home as he once again missed the attempt at goal, as Border trailed 13-21 after 17 minutes.

The Limpopo Blue Bulls did not get flustered though and hit back with their fourth try through Kamogelo Matloa. Reece Allan Wynne was on target once again to slam home his fourth conversion to stretch their lead to 28-13 after 20 minutes.

Border came back once again though as Matsinya showed a clean pair of heels to race away and bag a hat-trick. Coetzer found the target with the conversion to reduce the deficit to 20-28 after 23 minutes.

Limpopo BB went into the half-time break with the momentum as Matloa grabbed his second try of the game. Wynne maintained his 100 percent kicking record to extend his side's lead to 35-20.


Limpopo picked up where they left off and scored two early second half tries through Roos and Nyiko Ntlemo to put some daylight between the sides. Wynne added just one conversion as his side led 47-20 after 41 minutes.

The referee handed two yellow cards, one to either side, which somewhat took the sting out of the encounter. however, that did not deter Border from narrowing the gap as Jason Raubenheimer coasted through a gap to dot down under the uprights.

Coetzer added the extras to narrow the gap to 27-47 after 53 minutes.

However, Limpopo did not take lightly to conceding another try and hit back with one of their own as scrumhalf Renier Gerber was on hand to receive a Wynne offload to score. Wynne failed with the easy conversion but his side led 52-27 after 57 minutes.


Matloa was determined to get a hat-trick and got just that in the 62nd minute when he was on hand to race away and dot down under the uprights. Wynne popped over the conversion to ensure a 59-27 lead.

Border hit back soon after though as Raubenheimer grabbed his second of the match. Coetzer added the conversion to narrow the deficit to 34-59 after 65 minutes. 

Border had the final say in the match when Jarred du Plessis showcased a vicious side step to get himself over the try-line. Coetzer added the conversion to end the game.


For Border:

Tries: Siphamandla Matsinya 3, Jason Raubenheimer 2, Jarred du Plessis

Cons: David Coetzer 4

Pen: David Coetzer

For Limpopo:

Tries: Vincent Roos 2, Noko Meshack Malatji, Tshivhandekane Sefole, Kamogelo Matloa 3, Nyiko Ntlemo, Renier Gerber

Cons: Reece Allan Wynne 7

Yellow cards: Mark Venter (Border, 42; dangerous play – tip tackle); Nyiko Ntlemo (Limpopo, 45; foul play, not bringing an opponent down safely)


Border: 15 Jason Raubenheimer (Selborne), 14 Siphamandla Matsinya (Dale), 13 Sibahle Kuhlane (Selborne), 12 Sinethemba Qeshile (Hudson Park), 11 Jarred du Plessis (Hudson Park), 10 David Coetzer (Selborne), 9 Hlumelo Ndudula (Hudson Park), 8 Adam Mountford (Selborne), 7 André Rust (Selborne), 6 Stephen Louis Fourie (Stirling High), 5 Morné Coetzee (Stirling High), 4 Stephan Nieuwenhuizen (Selborne), 3 Cameron Moodie (Selborne), 2 Mark Venter (Selborne), 1 Luke Dalbock (Selborne), 16 Kwezi Dlamini (Sterling High), 17 Andile Nondwangu (Cambridge High), 18 Cole Haggard (Hudson Park), 19 Junaid Bijal (Queen’s), 20 Geoffrey Ross (Hoërskool Grens), 21 Mitchell Connellan (Selborne), 22 Sibabalwe Xamlashe (Selborne), 23 Dashaan Mitchley (Dale).

Limpopo: 15 Tshivhandekane Sefole (Louis Trichardt), 14 Ofentse Maubane (Curro Heuwelkruin), 13 Vincent Roos (Ben Viljoen), 12 Heini Ferreira (Ben Vorster), 11 Noko Meshack Malatji (Merensky), 10 Karel Limbach (Eric Louw), 9 Renier Gerber (Curro Heuwelkruin), 8 Philip Apea-Adu (Louis Trichardt), 7 Armich Lottering (Tom Naudé), 6 Marko Benade (Hans Strydom), 5 Gezani Manzini (Ben Vorster), 4 Gerdus Botha (Frikkie Meyer), 3 Barend Lombard (Merensky), 2 Bernard Vermaak (Ben Vorster), 1 Nyiko Ntlemo (Ben Vorster), 16 PJ Botha (Hans Strydom), 17 Cornelius van Staden (Curro Heuwelkruin), 18 Tshepo Masakale (Tom Naudé), 19 CJ Erasmus (Ben Vorster), 20 Ajay Willemse (Piet Potgieter), 21 Lehlogonold Molepo (Ben Vorster), 22 Reece Allan Wynne (Curro Heuwelkruin), 23 Kamogelo Matloa (Tom Naudé).

Referee: Oregopotse Rametsi 

Assistant referees: Pieter Maritz, Divan Uys 

PV: 3