Get Newsletter

Carr leads strong Bulls side against Falcons

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Nizaam Carr will captain a Bulls side that will face the Falcons in a friendly match in Modimolle on Friday.


Kick-off  is set for 18.30 at Nylstroom High School.

Director of Rugby, Jake White says the fixture serves as an opportunity for the whole playing group to get some much-needed game time, staying sharp and competitive in what is an expanded season of rugby.

“We have a long season of rugby which feels like it is extended because there is no real elongated break like the in the past seasons, so keeping our players match sharp is vital for as we get into the playoff stages of our United Rugby Championship and Champions Cup campaigns,” White said.

“As I have said before, as a franchise we value the Currie Cup as the pinnacle of club rugby in South Africa and this fixture also serves as our preparation and build-up towards that campaign; as much as it is another opportunity for us to try new combinations and get to evaluate where we are in terms of our overall squad depth.”

White also touts the match as a way for the Bulls to remain a team for the community.

“I am confident that this is a wonderful opportunity for our loyal supporters, who are based in the areas outside of the big city, a chance for them to see the team and experience rugby the way we love it. We understand the need to be a reachable team and we want to be a team that is seen and experienced by all which is not always possible.”


The Bulls will have Tielman Nieuwoudt, Tiaan Lange and Khutha Mchunu up front, supported by Merwe Olivier and JF van Heerden. Phumzile Maqondwana will line up alongside Cyle Brink with Carr at No. 8.

Bernard van der Linde and Chris Smith combine at scrumhalf and flyhalf with Sibongile Novuka and Cornal Hendricks at left and right wing respectively. In between the two speedsters will be Chris Smit and Cornel Smit combining at centre. Stravino Jacobs will provide cover at fullback.

Fresh legs in the form of Jacques van Rooyen, Juann Else, Sebastian Lombard, Rob Hunt, Abulele Ndabambi, Corné Beets, Mihlali Mosi, Steven Nel, Carlton Bannies, Lionel Mapoe and Regan Izaks will all be ready to provide cover from the bench.

Bulls: 15. Stravino Jacobs, 14. Cornal Hendricks, 13. Cornel Smit, 12. Chris Smit, 11. Sibongile Novuka, 10. Chris Smith, 9. Bernard van der Linde, 8. Nizaam Carr (captain), 7. Cyle Brink, 6. Phumzile Maqondwana, 5. JF van Heerden, 4. Merwe Olivier, 3. Khutha Mchunu, 2. Tiaan Lange, 1. Tielman Nieuwoudt,
Replacements: 16. Jacques van Rooyen, 17. Juann Else, 18. Sebastian Lombard, 19. Rob Hunt, 20. Abulele Ndabambi, 21. Corné Beets, 22. Mihlali Mosi, 23. Steven Nel, 24. Carlton Bannies, 25. Lionel Mapoe, 26. Regan Izaks





Join free

Fresh Starts | Episode 1 | Will Skelton


Aotearoa Rugby Podcast | Episode 8

James Cook | The Big Jim Show | Full Episode

New Zealand victorious in TENSE final | Cathay/HSBC Sevens Day Three Men's Highlights

New Zealand crowned BACK-TO-BACK champions | Cathay/HSBC Sevens Day Three Women's Highlights

Japan Rugby League One | Steelers v Sungoliath | Full Match Replay

Rugby Europe Women's Championship | Netherlands v Spain

Write A Comment