Tue 16 Oct 2018 | 08:00

All the winners from WP Awards ceremony

All the winners from WP Awards ceremony
Tue 16 Oct 2018 | 08:00
All the winners from WP Awards ceremony

NEWS: Backline stars Damian de Allende and Sergeal Petersen both claimed two awards at the 2018 WPRFU Awards evening on Tuesday.

Petersen was rewarded for his scintillating form as top try-scorer in the Currie Cup this season with the WP Most Promising Player award and the coveted Players’ Player Award, while De Allende claimed the Best Back and MVP Award.

Forwards Steven Kitshoff (Best Forward) Pieter-Steph du Toit (Player of the Year) and Ernst van Rhyn (WP Most Promising Forward) were also recognised, along with Stormers captain Siya Kolisi, who claimed the Award for Leadership, Focus and Passion.

In the Western Province U19 team that will face the Sharks in their semifinal in Durban this weekend, fullback Quan Eyman was named WP U19 Most Promising Player, scrumhalf Lucky Dlepu the WP U19 Best Back, prop Dian Bleuler the WP U19 Best Forward and lock Ian Kitwanga claimed the U19 Player of the Year award.

In the Western Province U21 side that will host Blue Bulls U21 in their semifinal at Newlands on Saturday, lock David Meihuizen was WP U21 Most Promising Player, scrumhalf Jondre Williams the WP U21 Best Back, prop Kwenzo Blose the WP U21 Best Forward and skipper Nama Xaba was the U21 Player of the Year.

The top players in schools, club and women’s rugby were also recognised, with Stravino Jacobs named School’s Player of the Year, Cindy Booi the Women’s Player of the Year and Johan Momsen the Club Player of the Year. The Western Province Women’s team claimed their second straight national title and were celebrated for this significant achievement.

Club rugby referee of the year was Nathan Barry and referee of the year was Rasta Rasivhenge.

Despite the challenges posed by the drought, it was another vibrant season of club rugby and the respective WPRFU Super League champions were duly honoured amongst a host of other club rugby awards. Maties were once again the top side in Super League A, while Paarl were Super League B champions and Macassar took top honours in Super League C.

WPRFU President, Thelo Wakefield, paid tribute to all of the winners.

“Congratulations to everyone who walked away with awards this evening – it has been another busy year for the union, with our players showing their worth at all levels of the game.

“The standards that we hold up in both amateur and professional rugby are testament to the many hours of hard work that are put in by rugby enthusiasts throughout Western Province,” he said.


WP U19 Best Forward: Dian Bleuler
WP U19 Best Back: Lucky Dlepu
WP U19 Most Promising Player: Quan Eyman

WP U21 Best Forward: Kwenzo Blose
WP U21 Best Back: Jondre Williams
WP U21 Most Promising Player: David Meihuizen

U19 Player of the Year: Ian Kitwanga
U21 Player of the Year: Nama Xaba
Senior Player of the Year: Pieter-Steph du Toit
MVP Award: Damian de Allende

WP Best Forward: Steven Kitshoff
WP Best Back: Damian de Allende
WP Most Promising Senior Forward: Ernst van Rhyn
WP Most Promising Senior Back: Sergeal Petersen

WP Women’s Player of the Year: Cindy Booi
WP School’s Player of the Year: Stravino Jacobs
Club Rugby Player of the Year: Johan Momsen
Players Player of the Year: Sergeal Petersen


Super League A: Maties

Super League B: Paarl

Super League C: Macassar

City League (First round): Masiphumelele

Northern League (First round): Blue Stars United

Southern League (First round): Morning Star

Paarl League Winner: Albions

Simonsberg League Winner: Lamotte

Sunday League: Dolphins

Women’s League: Busy Bees Women

Paarl region (Bottom six): Simondium

Paarl region (Top six): Riverstones

Super League A Under-20: UCT

Super League B Under-20: Hamlets

Super League C Under-20: Kylemore

Club referee of the year: Nathan Barry

Referee of the year: Rasta Rasivhenge

PV: 657

All The Winners From Wp Awards Ceremony | Rugby365