Get Newsletter

Griquas tweak team for crucial clash

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Griquas head coach Pieter Bergh has revealed his team for their crucial final-round Currie Cup clash against the Pumas in Kimberley.


There is just one change to the starting team that defeated Western Province 38-29 at Griqua Park last weekend.

That change is in the front row with Janu Botha replacing Justin Forwood who drops down to the bench.

Eddie Davids drops out of the matchday 23.

Friday’s encounter is a straight shootout between the two teams.

The winner advances to the play-offs and the loser watches from the sidelines.

The Pumas are third in the standings with 36 points, just one ahead of the fifth-placed Griquas.


Griquas: 15 George Whitehead, 14 Rosko Specman, 13 Jay-Cee Nel, 12 Tertius Kruger, 11 Luther Obi, 10 Lubabalo Dobela, 9 Johan Mulder, 8 Carl Els, 7 Hanru Sirgel (captain), 6 Thabo Ndimande, 5 Derik Pretorius 4 Dylan Sjöblom, 3 Janu Botha, 2 Janco Uys, 1 Kudzwai Dube.
Replacements: 16 Sean Swart, 17 Cebo Dlamini, 18 Justin Forwood, 19 Johan Retief, 20 Stephan Smit, 21 Reagan Oranje, 22 Eduard Fouche, 23 Sango Xamlashe.

Date: Friday, June 9
Venue: Griqua Park, Kimberley
Kick-off: 15.00 (13.00 GMT)
Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen
Assistant Referees: Griffin Colby, Stephan Geldenhuys
TMO: Quinton Immelman

Write A Comment