Thu 17 Jun 2021 | 03:37

Griquas tweak winning combination

Griquas tweak winning combination
Thu 17 Jun 2021 | 03:37
Griquas tweak winning combination

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Griquas coach Scott Mathie has made a number of changes to his team for their opening match of the Currie Cup season.


They host the Sharks in Kimberley on Saturday and the team shows four changes from that which edged the Cheetahs 23-19 in a pre-season outing last week.

The team will again be captained by former Bulls loose forward Ruan Steenkamp, who moved from Pretoria to Kimberley in the off-season.

Seasoned flyhalf George Whitehead starts in the place of Tinus de Beer.

Sibabalo Qoma is the new blindside flank in place of Stefan Willemse.

Mzwanele Zito starts at lock in place of Adre Smith and the final change sees Janco Uys at hooker in place of Alandre van Rooyen.

(Continue below …)

Griquas team to face Sharks

Griquas: 15 Masixole Banda, 14 Daniel Kasende, 13 Ederies Arendse, 12 Andre Swarts, 11 Eduan Keyter, 10 George Whitehead, 9 Stefan Ungerer, 8 Ruan Steenkamp (captain), 7 Sibabalo Qoma, 6 Gideon van der Merwe, 5 Cameron Lindsay, 4 Mzwanele Zito, 3 Andries Schutte, 2 Janco Uys, 1 Andrew Beerwinkel.
Replacements – from: Tiaan van der Merwe, Andrew Kuhn, Ewald van der Westhuizen, Jeandré Leonard, Hanru Sirgel, Raegan Oranje, Theo Boshoff, Christopher Hollis, Tijde Visser, Enver Brandt, Ashlon Davids.


Date: Saturday, June 19
Venue: Griqua Park, Kimberley
Kick-off: 13.30 (11.30 GMT)
Referee: Rasta Rasivhenge
Assistant referees: Mpho Matsaung, Franco de Bruin
TMO: AJ Jacobs

Griquas Currie Cup fixtures

PV: 22
Griquas tweak winning combination | Rugby365