Sat 24 Aug 2019 | 04:45

RECAP: Free State Cheetahs v Western Province

RECAP: Free State Cheetahs v Western Province
Sat 24 Aug 2019 | 04:45
RECAP: Free State Cheetahs v Western Province

READERS’ FORUM: Welcome to the Currie Cup Round Seven encounter between the Free State Cheetahs and Western Province in Bloemfontein.


The Free State Cheetahs and Western Province will be equally desperate for victories when they take to the field at the Free State Stadium.

The Capetonians, in particular, have their backs against the wall as a defeat will probably mark the end of their season.

The hosts will enter the match with a little more peace of mind knowing that a defeat with a bonus point could still see them finish in the top four. A victory, meanwhile, could nudge them to a home semifinal.

Recent results:

2018: Western Province won 32-0, Cape Town
2017: Western Province won 57-14, Cape Town
2017: Free State Cheetahs won 30-17, Bloemfontein
2016: Free State Cheetahs won 32-25, Cape Town
2015: Free State Cheetahs won 28-21, Bloemfontein

Prediction: Western Province
Margin: Six

* To read our full preview, CLICK HERE!

* Don’t miss this week’s podcast …

* Our live blog will appear below, it might take a little while to load, please be patient. We apologise for the inconvenience!


Free State Cheetahs: 15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Darren Adonis, 13 Benhard Janse van Rensburg, 12 William Small-Smith, 11 Tian Meyer (captain), 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Henco Venter, 7 Abongile Nonkontwana, 6 Junior Pokomela, 5 Walt Steenkamp, 4 Sintu Manjesi, 3 Abram Venter, 2 Joseph Dweba, 1 Schalk van der Merwe.
Replacements: 16 Jacques du Toit, 17 Retshegofaditswe Nche, 18 Aranos Coetzee, 19 Jean-Pierre du Preez, 20 Gerhard Olivier, 21 Jasper Wiese, 22 Dries Swanepoel/Dian Badenhorst, 22 Louis Fouche.


Western Province: 15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Rikus Pretorius, 11 SP Marais, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Justin Phillips, 8 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 7 JD Schickerling, 6 Ernst van Rhyn, 5 Chris van Zyl, 4 Salmaan Moerat, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Corne Fourie.
Replacements: 16 Chad Solomon, 17 Kwenzo Blose, 18 Neethling Fouche, 19 Nama Xaba, 20 Juarno Augustus, 21 Paul de Wet, 22 Jean-Luc du Plessis, 23 Seabelo Senatla.

Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen
Assistant referees: Ruhan Meiring, Mpho Matsaung
TMO: JJ Wagner

PV: 2433
RECAP: Free State Cheetahs v Western Province | Rugby365