Wed 4 Sep 2019 | 06:28

Preview: Pumas v Griffons

Preview: Pumas v Griffons
Wed 4 Sep 2019 | 06:28
Preview: Pumas v Griffons

CURRIE CUP PROMOTION-RELEGATION: The Pumas and Griffons will know their fate on Friday, as they battle it out at the Mbombela Stadium in Nelspruit.


On offer is the right to play in the Premier Division next season.

The Pumas finished the Premier Division as the last-placed team this season.

The First Division finalists, the Griffons, earned their place in the encounter as the best-placed South African team on the standings.

The Pumas won one of their six pool matches in the Premier Division, while the Griffons won three, lost one and drew three of their seven pool matches in the First Division – going down 13-27 in the Final against the Jaguares XV.


Should the teams finish the regular 80 minutes of play with level scores, the winner will be determined as follows:
* Extra time of 20 minutes (two 10 minute halves with a one minute break); if still level
* Sudden death – 10-minute intervals with a one minute break – the team that scores first wins.


Pumas: 15 Devon Williams, 14 Morné Joubert, 13 Alwayno Visagie, 12 Henko Marais, 11 Luther Obi, 10 Christopher Smith, 9 Ashlon Davids, 8 Willie Engelbrecht, 7 Hermanus du Preez, 6 Jeandre Rudolph, 5 Stefan Willemse, 4 Le Roux Roets, 3 Marne Coetzee, 2 Marko Janse van Rensburg, 1 Morgan Naude.
Replacements: 16 Simon Westraadt, 17 De-Jay Terblanche, 18 Hilton Lobberts, 19 Phumzile Maqondwana, 20 Ginter Smuts, 21 Jacobus Marais, 22 Japie Kleinhans, 23 Ngonidzashe Chidoma.


Griffons: 15 Dominic Smit, 14 Duncan van Vuuren, 13 Danrich Visagie, 12 Arthur Williams, 11 Allistar Mumba, 10 Robbie Petzer, 9 Ethan Williams, 8 Cody Basson, 7 Jean Pretorius, 6 Thato Mavundla, 5 Vincent Maruping, 4 Sibabalo Qoma, 3 Doctor Booysen, 2 Anrich Alberts, 1 Quintin Vorster.
Replacements: 16 Chadley Wenn, 17 Barend Potgieter, 18 Neo Mohapi, 19 Nofuma Nkosikhona, 20 Ludio Williams, 21 Jaywinn Juries, 22 Mario Wilson.

Date: Friday, September 6
Venue: Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit
Kick-off: 17.00 (15.00 GMT)
Referee: Cwengile Jadezweni
Assistant referees: Stephan Geldenhuys and Jaco Pretorius
TMO: Johan Greeff

PV: 745
Preview: Pumas v Griffons | Rugby365