Get Newsletter

Sharks take some serious muscle to Kimberley

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: The Sharks head for the Northern Cape this weekend for a Sunday date with Griquas – taking some additional muscle with them to Kimberley.


They face the 2022 losing finalists, Griquas, in a Round Two Currie Cup clash.

Sharks Currie Cup coach Joey Mongalo has dipped into wider squad resources for Sunday’s game.

Although Griquas lost their first-round match (19-42 against the Cheetahs), they have always proved to be a tough nut to crack in Kimberley and the side selected demonstrates just how highly the Sharks rate their opponents.

Kimberley is a very different and inhospitable place to play and the team Mongalo has selected reflects how much respect they have for Griquas, as well as the undeniable desire to bring back valuable log points.

* (Article continues below …)

In changes to last week’s side, Hanro Jacobs replaces Carlu Sadie at tighthead prop in the only change to the front row.

However, the coach has overhauled the rest of the pack.


Sharks regulars Hyron Andrews and Reniel Hugo come in for Thembelani Bholi and Ockie Barnard in the second row.

There is also a familiar look about the loose forward trio – James Venter, Dylan Richardson and Henco Venter replacing Tino Mavesere, Siyamthanda Ningiza and Celimpilo Gumede respectively.

There’s a new halfback pairing – Cameron Wright and Fred Zeilinga taking over from Zee Mkhabela and Lionel Cronje.

Marnus Potgieter has shifted to the wing in place of Anthony Volmink, accommodating Francois Venter at inside centre, with captain Murray Koster shifting from No.12 to No.13.


The final change sees Thaakir Abrahams named at fullback, replacing the injured Nevaldo Fleurs.

Sharks: 15 Thaakir Abrahams, 14 Yaw Penxe, 13 Murray Koster (captain), 12 Francois Venter, 11 Marnus Potgieter, 10 Fred Zeilinga, 9 Cameron Wright, 8 Henco Venter, 7 Dylan Richardson, 6 James Venter, 5 Reniel Hugo, 4 Hyron Andrews, 3 Hanro Jacobs, 2 Fez Mbatha, 1 Khwezi Mona.
Replacements: 16 Dan Jooste, 17 Dian Bleuler, 18 Khutha Mchunu, 19 Athenkosi Khethani, 20 Marco de Witt, 21 Damon Royle, 22 Bradley Davids, 23 Lionel Cronje.

Date: Sunday, March 19
Venue: Griqua Park, Kimberley
Kick-off: 16.05 (14.05 GMT)
Referee: Cwengile Jadezweni
Assistant referees: Local
TMO: Ben Crouse

Write A Comment