Get Newsletter

White makes changes as Bulls bid farewell to Morne and Bismarck

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Bulls Director of Rugby Jake White has revealed his team for their crunch Currie Cup Round 14 clash against the Cheetahs in Pretoria on Saturday.


The match will also see the Bulls bid farewell to Morné Steyn and Bismarck du Plessis at Loftus Versfeld.

White has made a few rotational changes to his matchday 23.

In the pack, Mornay Smith (tighthead prop) swaps places with Francois Klopper who goes to the bench

Ruan Nortje (Lock) comes in for Janko Swanepoel who will also get a chance to run from the bench.

Cyle Brink (openside flank) returns to the matchday 23 having fully recovered from the flu and he will line up alongside Elrigh Louw who will run out at No.8 with Nizaam Carr shifting to the impact squad.

The rest of the pack will see Gerhard Steenekamp (loosehead prop), Jan-Hendrik Wessels (hooker), Ruan Vermaak (Lock) and Marcell Coetzee (blindside flank) all add their weight as the Bulls look to confirm their final four berth.


In the backline, Steyn will start at flyhalf with Chris Smith primed for a run from the bench.

Steyn will pair up with Embrose Papier at halfback.

Both David Kriel (left) and Cornal Hendricks (right) will get to run out on the wings, while Johan Goosen’s services have also been retained at fullback.

The only other change at the back is that of returning Harold Vorster, pairing up with Stedman Gans in the midfield.


The Bulls will have fresh legs to call upon in the form of Du Plessis who slots into the replacements alongside Kloppers, Swanepoel, Carr, and Smith.

Simphiwe Matanzima, Keagan Johannes and Wandile Simelane have all been retained from the week before.

The fixture will also be a farewell outing for team physiotherapist, Kyle Meyer, who has been running with the team for the last eight years.

Bulls: 15 Johan Goosen, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Stedman Gans, 12 Harold Vorster, 11 David Kriel, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Embrose Papier, 8 Elrigh Louw, 7 Cyle Brink, 6 Marcell Coetzee (captain), 5 Ruan Nortje, 4 Ruan Vermaak, 3 Mornay Smith, 2 Jan-Hendrik Wessels, 1 Gerhard Steenekamp.
Replacements: 16 Simphiwe Matanzima, 17 Bismarck du Plessis, 18 Francois Klopper, 19 Janko Swanepoel, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Keagan Johannes, 22 Chris Smith, 23 Wandisile Simelane.

Date: Saturday, June 10
Venue: Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
Kick-off: 15.00 (13.00 GMT)
Referee: AM Jacobs
Assistant referees: Phumzile Mbewu, Jonathan Lottering
TMO: Aimee Barrett-Theron

Write A Comment