Tue 29 Jun 2021 | 10:15

WP make five changes for Sharks clash

WP make five changes for Sharks clash
Tue 29 Jun 2021 | 10:15
WP make five changes for Sharks clash

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: There are five changes to the Western Province team that will take on the Sharks at Cape Town Stadium on Wednesday.


Three of the changes are in the backline and two are in the forward pack, for the Currie Cup coastal clash.

Sergeal Petersen is at back at fullback, with Tim Swiel shifting to flyhalf, while Edwill van der Merwe makes his first appearance of the campaign on the wing.

Rikus Pretorius is at inside centre and will be partnered in midfield by Cornel Smit in the absence of the injured Dan du Plessis, while Paul de Wet starts at scrumhalf.

Evan Roos is back at No.8, with Hacjivah Dayimani making his first start on the flank and loan player Reinach Venter (Cheetahs) making his Western Province debut at hooker.

Venter was playing in France for Clermont on a short-term deal from the Cheetahs before a serious pectoral injury in April forced him to leave the club early.

Western Province head coach John Dobson said that his team is determined to make an impression in their first Currie Cup game at their new home ground, Cape Town Stadium.


“After two games away from home we want to be as accurate as possible in all areas of our game at Cape Town Stadium.

“It has been a good week of preparation and we are excited to see what the players coming in can add this week,” he said.

Western Province: 15 Sergeal Petersen, 14 Seabelo Senatla, 13 Cornel Smit, 12 Rikus Pretorius, 11 Edwill van der Merwe, 10 Tim Swiel, 9 Paul de Wet, 8 Evan Roos, 7 Hacjivah Dayimani, 6 Marcel Theunissen, 5 David Meihuizen, 4 Ernst van Rhyn (captain), 3 Neethling Fouche, 2 Reinach Venter, 1 Ali Vermaak.
Replacements – from: 16 Jason Alexander, 17 Leon Lyons, 18 Sazi Sandi, 19 Justin Basson, 20 Johan du Toit, 21 Juarno Augustus, 22 Godlen Masimla, 23 Abner van Reenen, 24 Lee-Marvin Mazibuko, 25 Lyle Hendricks.

Date: Wednesday, June 30
Venue: Cape Town Stadium, Cape Town
Kick-off: 17.00 (15.00 GMT)
Referee: Rasta Rasivhenge
Assistant referees: Local
TMO: Aimee Barrett-Theron


Main photo: @callsignvector

PV: 18
WP make five changes for Sharks clash | Rugby365