Get Newsletter

Seasoned campaigners lead Lions, Pumas in friendly

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENTS: Andries Coetzee and Shane Kirkwood will lead a Lions XV and Pumas side respectively in a friendly at Ellis Park on Thursday afternoon.


Coetzee leads a side that is a good blend of youth and experience, much like the side that faced the Junior Boks last week.

Manuel Rass and Zander du Plessis, one of the stars in the previous game, will patrol the midfield at centres, Kade Wolhuter gets another chance at flyhalf to find his feet after such a long absence from action due to injury and this time his scrumhalf is Johan Mulder.

The loose forwards will be Sibusiso Sangweni, Izan Esterhuizen, and Renzo du Plessis, at lock coach Ivan van Rooyen has opted for Ruben Schoeman, and Ruan Delport while the front row will consist of Sivu Mabece, Morne Brandon and Ruan Smith.

Pumas coach Jimmy Stonehouse has gone for his strongest available combinations.

Kirkwood is a seasoned campaigner and a force in the line-outs and always leads by example.

Brandon Thomson and Ross Braude form the halfback combination, the centres are Theuns Pretorius and Clinton Swart and wings Stefan Coetzee and Phiko Sobahle will have to keep a close eye Pienaar and Keagan Smith.


The Pumas will be geared to bounce back from their 19-28 loss in a friendly against the Griffons in Welkom last week.


Lions XV: 15 Andries Coetzee (captain), 14 Stean Pienaar, 13 Manuel Rass, 12 Zander du Plessis, 11 Keagan Smith, 10 Kade Wolhuter, 9 Johan Mulder, 8 Sibusiso Sangweni, 7 Izan Esterhuizen, 6 Renzo du Plessis, 5 Ruan Delport, 4 Ruben Schoeman, 3 Sivu Mabece, 2 Morne Brandon, 1 Ruan Smith
Replacements: 16 Jacques-Lois du Toit, 17 SJ Kotze, 18 Heiko Pohlman, 19 Raynard Roets, 20 Nico Steyn, 21 Tyler Bocks, 22 Bronson Mills

Pumas: 15 Tino Swanepoel, 14 Stefan Coetzee, 13 Theuns Pretorius, 12 Clinton Swart, 11 Phiko Sobahle, 10 Brandon Thomson, 9 Ross Braude, 8 Kwanda Dimaza, 7 Ruward van der Merwe, 6 Jaco Labuschagne, 5 Shane Kirkwood (captain), 4 Jeandre Leonard, 3 Sampie Swiegers, 2 Llewellyn Classen, 1 Dewald Maritz.
Replacements: 16 Darnell Osuagwu, 17 Etienne Janeke, 18 Munashe Mhere, 19 Junior White, 20 Andre Fouche, 21 PJ Jacobs, 22 Giovan Snyman, 23 Andrew Kota, 24 Wian van Niekerk, 25 Kabelo Mokoena, 26 De-An Ackermann


Date: Thursday, March 14
Venue: Ellis Park Stadium, Johannesburg
Kick-off: 14.00

Join free

New Zealand v Canada | Pacific Four Series 2024 | Full Match Replay

HSBC Sevens Challenger Series - Munich Day Two Replay

HSBC Sevens Challenger Series - Krakow Day Two Replay

Japan Rugby League One Semi-Final | Wildknights v Eagles | Full Match Replay

Japan Rugby League One Semi-Final | Bravelupus v Sungoliath | Full Match Replay

Pieter-Steph du Toit, The Malmesbury Missile, in conversation with Big Jim

The Antoine Dupont Interview

Chasing The Sun | Series 1 Episode 1

Write A Comment